Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
81
4.5 out of 5 stars
Mah-Jong (Know the Game)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 July 2017
Not the sellers fault but this book does not give me the information I was looking for. I've been playing mah-jong for about a year so already know quite a bit about the game. I was really looking for more information about special hands of which there are around 35 and this only gave me info on 19.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
its ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
A really excellent book, gives the basic details clearly and concisely, and then details the main complicated stuff with excellent illustrations. I bought one to accompany a set I was giving as a present, and then bought another for myself.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
Settle all disputes! The definitive rule-book, easy to handle and use. A must for every mah-jong player.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
Just starting to learn how to play. This book is so basic and expensive it is not really worth the money, there are much better sources of information about Mah-jong on the internet. Pretty pictures but who needs them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
Much the most straightforward book we've come across for beginners - other books have left us confused. This one shows the simplest form of the game, with an explanation of more complex variants later in the book as you grow in confidence and experience.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
Mah-Jong is a game for four players developed by the Chinese, probably in the 1800s. It is akin to some traditional card games, notable rummy, but is played with "tiles" often made from bamboo and bone in the better sets. There are many different sets of rules for the game which can be confusing when groups of players get together and this book (one in the series "Know the Game") sets out, very clearly, the rules adopted by the British Mah-Jong Association.
The book is well-produced on a heavy grade of paper with clear text and numerous excellent photographs to illustrate the salient points. The text includes examples of the method of scoring a completed hand, a subject of some confusion for beginners, and a comprehensive list of relevant websites is included. The book (64pp. and approx. 8"x5" in size) is excellent value at the (Amazon) price of under £5.00.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
This is an absolute gem of a handbook for the learner Mahjong player (and maybe the more experienced which I have yet to become). Having learnt the Hong Kong version of the game I needed good guidance to play the British version and found this an easily accessible and clearly written guide. Well worth the dirt cheap price.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
This is a very attractive, semi hard back book that is well presented and illustrated and easy to follow. It is called 'Know the Game' so designed for the new or casual player rather than existing experts who would, I imagine, prefer more in depth strategy, although some basic strategic advice is given. I liked it because there are a lot of different books on Mah-Jong rules and they all have different variations, especially depending on which country you live in. As I am in the UK this tries to standardise the rules for UK players and is published by the British Mah-Jong association.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse