Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2010
Anthony Dyson was my Tutor at University - he was always inspiring to listen to and this book illustrates that he has not changed. It is a superb book written in a beautifully visual way - the plates are good quality and the information on each Print Maker is clear and concise. I thoroughly recommend this book for anyone wanting to improve their knowledge of contemporary printmakers.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
This book should be called 'printmakers' insights'. There are no secrets that will let you make a print like Norman Ackroyd, apart from years of hard graft learning your trade.

What this book offers is an a double page spread for each of the featured (60ish) contemporary printmakers with examples of their work and insightful discussions on their working practice and inspirations. Some are really technically detailed, some more philosophical. All are extremely interesting to a practicing printmaker.

The book is beautifully produced with fine illustrative prints and preparatory studies, in a wide range of styles. Nearly all the works are analog on paper (two or three exceptions).

I have found this an invaluable source of inspiration - just ignore the naff title!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
On the plus side, the book is nicely illustrated and shows a diversity of different work. The title is however misleading, as the printmakers secrets are still secret. There is little in the book of working methods or techniques used. In fact the book should have been called "Printmakers Anecdotes" as it's really just a showcase of their work with the odd anecdote thrown in. The very misleading title and expensive price for a soft-back, mean I only give the book 2 stars.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I have been printmaking for fifty years and I taught etching for a short period. What a pity I didn't have this book as a student! Each printmaker has his own way of working and to have these artists telling you exactly how they produce their work is fascinating. For students and beginners it should be preceded by some manual to explain the basics in order to get started with things like the strengths of acids and how to lay a ground, etc. When you read this book you move from individual technical practice to fascinating creative end products. This is very well demonstrated in the excellent illustrations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This book has a double page spread for each printmaker featured. Its beautifully illustrated. The printmakers had full control over what they said and it varies from stories about their inspiration and why they use the medium they do, through generalised information on their process to detailed tips on how to get your hands clean. It has inspired me not just to take my printmaking farther but also to track down galleries selling a couple of the contributors work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
If you are interested in printmaking and the practicies of printmaking, then this is the book for you. It is inspiring, full of wonderful ideas, images and some techniques
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
During my fd in fine art I have an allowance for books and went crazy buying any art book that took my fancy. I really enjoyed reading this book and it'll alway have a spot on my shelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
A great collection of images and ideas from some of our most well known printmakers, a must for anyone serious about printmaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
This book delighted the recipient on Christmas day and has inspired him to create 2 beautiful Lino prints. Very happy all round
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Fabulous book. Beuatifully illustrated. Gives a glimse into the myriad ways different artists approach their work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)