Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
24
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2017
Now can you get my daughter to use it LOL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
This is not any kind of step by step guide for students or teachers. This is a book of final pieces that other artists have produced. This is useful if you wanted to generate ideas or have a go at producing one of the pieces in the book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
What a rip off! I bought this book and '200 projects to strengthen your art skills' and they are exactly the same book. They are even different prices! This is extremely misleading of the author and the publishers and they should state this on both book details so that people don't get conned into getting both. Shame on them.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
I made my copy of this book available to my 6th form Art students. All have English as a second or third language. they found it very helpful and easy to follow because of the good illustrations. It compliments our first year course and second year students find it helpful as it reminds them of some approaches they could explore more deeply in their course work. I found the advice on compiling a portfolio particularly useful.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2008
This is a book of initial starting points which is fair enough - but if you were expecting detailed and step by step projects then you will not find them here - one double page spread can contain up to 6 of the '200 projects'.
It is still worth buying for the project kick -offs though.

Oh! and by the way do not fall for Amazon's offer to buy this author's other book '200 Projects to strengthen your art skills' at a slightly reduced rate.
It is the same book with a different title
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
This book ideal for anyone who is interested in art in general, plus with a view to going onto art college. I would say it's a very useful hints and tips book. Just a good all rounder.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
I don't want to get into art school - I just wanted to broaden my ideas. Its so easy to get into a rut and stay in your own comfort zone. This book served the purpose. It covers all aspects you need to broaden your thinking and abilities.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
As someone with no formal art education, I found this book very useful. It had lots of ideas and interesting things to try out. I imagine that if you have completed A Level art or have a lot of experience, this would be a bit repetitive. It probably won't tell you anything that you haven't heard before.

I liked the structure of the book. Each double page spread covers a different theme. It is definitely a good book for inspiration, there are lots of little projects to try.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
I am looking to apply to a uni art course next year as a mature student and basically wanted a book of ideas in order to create an impressive portfolio - and that is what this book has given me, and more.

Since using one of the ideas and creating a piece of artwork from it, I have been inundated with commissions from family and friends!! I hope to have lots of 'professional' work examples in time for when I apply to a course.

All of the other ideas are great also, and the author does not give too much information away, just a 'jumping-off-point',so you wont be spoon fed - which isnt ideal, really. You get to take that initial idea and then you can go away and adapt it as you will.

Highly recommended!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
This seems to be aimed at a very young American audience. It would be too basic for the average A level student but might be a useful starting point for GCSE. Slightly disappointing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)