Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
156
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£3.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2010
Bought this for a friend who was getting married. It got good laughs. Very old fashioned language.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
this book was a lot smaller than i thought it was from the picture but it was in good condition, fast delivery and no damage
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
A funny little book of advice from the 1800's for wives. Some of the stuff in here is clearly out of date, and cause lots of giggles. Mixed in there though was a fair amount of advice that is actually relevant in todays world. There's lots of stuff that I read and thought "yeah, it would be easy for me to do that, and my hubby would really appreciate it!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Good gift for couples who just get married.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Funny miniature book full of useless sayings & tips. We put it in the Bride-to-be's hen party bag & it now sits pride of place next to her toilet! LOL.

As you can imagine being published in 1913, it is VERY outdated so good for a laugh for modern women.

Might also work well as a gag wedding gift if you get the "Don'ts for Husbands" & "Sex tips for husbands & wives" books too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
This little book, makes a lovely little gift with the matching book for men, Don'ts for Husbands.
I bought them at Christmas one for myself and one for my husband, they are fun and lighthearted. Outdated but charming but still with relevant tips for marriages today!

Buy the pair!
Don'ts for Wives
Don'ts for Husbands
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
This pithy little book gives an insight into 'the rules' of marriage just after the turn of the twentieth century. Author Blanche Ebbutt is suitably forthright when telling her contemporaries what their role and duties in the home are.

The book is divided into twelve chapters: Personalities, How to Avoid Discord, Habits, Financial Matters, Evenings at Home, Jealousy, Recreation, Food, Dress, Entertaining, Household Management and Children.

As the advice was written at a time when a woman's place was most definitely in the home, today's wives may find some of the suggestions a little out of place:

- "Don't omit to oil the wheels of domestic machinery so that they don't annoy your husband by running badly."

However, there are many pearls of timeless good advice scattered along the way:

- "Don't say bitter things when you are angry."
- "Don't try to model your husband on some other woman's husband. Let him be himself and make the best of him."
- "Don't expect your husband to have all the feminine virtues as well as all the masculine ones."

and even this rather forward-looking remark:

- "Don't interpret to literally the 'obey' of the Marriage Service. Your husband has no right to control your individuality."

However, some statements can leave you wondering just what married life was like in 1913:

- "Don't feel worried because you can't afford to offer your friends a champagne supper ..."

I wouldn't recommend this book as a gift for the ardent feminist, but taken in good humour, it offers an entertaining look at the past and a reminds us all that some things never change. For wives seeking their revenge, 'Don'ts for Husbands' might fit the bill!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
A very funny and worthwhile item my partner lived it. I felt it was rather small( about half the size of a post card) but she was happy as it fitted in her handbag so she could show it to friends
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Bought for someone's 1st wedding anniversary, as its paper I thought it was quite witty!! Had a good look through it and it is just for a little laugh. Perhaps a bit smaller than I anticipated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Bought this as a stocking filler for our daughter in law to be who is getting married in February.
She enjoyed reading it, time will tell if she puts into practice anything that she read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)