Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
154
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£3.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 13 December 2007
A good read for Mr and for Mrs, sending admonishments flying back and forth. Written in a Victorian style (if the date is to be believed, it is early 20th. Century)the man is head of the household, and the lady must not be caught yawning as he finishes his last pipe! There is plenty to return in terms of what can be expected from the husband and, contrary to Harry Enfield sketches you might have seen, exhorting ladies to have opinions all of their own. Clearly an idea which will never catch on.

All in all it's a grin, and a quick, light read which is perfect as a cheeky stocking filler for a recalcitrant wife.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
This book was published in 1913, but much of the advice it gives is still relevent today:

Don't try to model your husband on some other woman's husband. Let him be himself and make the best of him.

Don't expect your husband to be an angel. You would get very tired of him if he were.

Don't take your husband at his own valuations, but at yours. He may be unduly modest, or just a little too cocksure.

Don't set your husband up on a pedestal and then cry when you discover he is just an ordinary man, after all.

Don't expect to drop into marital harmony with the end of the honeymoon, you have not thoroughly learned to know each other's foibles by that time.

Don't think you can each go your own way and be as happy as if you pulled in double harness. In all important matters you want to pull together.

Don't expect all the 'give' to be on his side, and all the 'take' on yours.

Don't become a mere echo of your husband. If you never hold an opinion of your own, life will be dreadfully colourless for both of you, and there will be nothing to talk about.

Don't spend your life keeping up appearances. why should you buy expensive furniture for the benefit of your neighbours if you haven't got a balance at the bank?

Don't grudge the years you spend on child-bearing and child-rearing. Remember you are training future citizens, and it is themost important mission in the world.

This delightful little book is full of very sound advice, and my only regret is that it is so short. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a book of advice on how to have a happy marriage.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 March 2010
This book was written in 1913 and I at first expected it to be of the same kind as Sex Tips for Husbands and Wives from 1894 - a hillarious reminder of how different things used to be and how horrible in many ways. It turns out that either the author was much more enlightened here, or that the 20 years from 1894 to 1913 really brought about a dramatic shift in attitudes.

The basic premise of the man as sole breadwinner and the wife as a stay at home mother is definitely still there and while most will find the advice on the use of servants a bit quaint and anachronistic, there is plenty of sound advice in this - something I wish more people would read seriously, rather than just for fun.

The advice in here revolves around creating a more caring and comfortable relationship, based on mutual respect and trust. Some bits will still be funny (the yawning while the man has the last pipe of the day mentioned by another reviewer certainly being one such case) but overall the message is take care of your husband but do not, under any circumstances let him trod on you or your independence. Luckily, the same message comes across in the companion book Don'ts for Husbands, which really should be read by both parties as well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2008
I have long been amused by this book and am very glad to see it reprinted. I have my grandmother's original copy which she bought when she got married in 1914. When you think that she bought it as a serious guide to how women should behave in a marriage you realise that things really have got better since then. Robert
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Don't take your husband on a laborious shopping expedition and expect him to remain good-tempered throughout. If you want his advice on some special dress purchase, arrange to attend to that first, and then let him off. Men, as a rule, hate indescriminate shopping."

Highly amusing little book - written in all seriousness in 1913 but very Cholmondley-Warner-esque in its outdated attitudes. This book provided many gems for some light-hearted ribbing in my groom's speech when I got married.

Also check out How to be a Good Wife, which is a later derivative of this book, reworded but with new material.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
Fabulous little book (be warned this is quite a small book) probably 5" x 3". Some real gems in there advice wise, but not to be taken seriously by the modern girl (unless, of course, you want to). It went down a treat as a hen night gimmick gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Bought as a cheap wedding gift addition - gave couple cash for a honeymoon but it was nice to have something to wrap up to give them.Also bought the "don'ts for husbands"

It's a pretty small book, really only suitable as an addition or a little something as a bit of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
I enjoyed reading this book. It is short - can be read in one sitting- but it gives an insight into life in Victorian times and is quite funny because the advice is aimed at people with such a different lifestyle to our own. I will be buying the other books in the series.
This would make a funny little wedding gift.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 September 2013
This is an attractive little book which will feet easily into pocket or handbag. The hard cover makes it able to take wear and tear. As it is a light hearted gift for a bride I have only had a quick glance at the text and it is very much 1913 attitudes. I think the modern day brides will find it amusing. That is my purpose. I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Based on the reviews of others, this was bought as a light-hearted gift for the bride-to-be. It's beautifully presented as shown in the picture, as you would expect an "old" book to be. The pages of the book are of good quality and cream in colour. It's a lovely little book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.