Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2015
Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
This is a valuable book of warnings to offshore yachtsmen cruising North Atlantic areas and further afield. It includes descriptions of losses of well-found boats even after favourable weather forecats. Paul Gelder's updated version of Coote's orginal is recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
The book is a very well written assembly of incidents leading to the total loss of yachts at sea. This is a great read and very easy to make your way through. I have the upmost sympathy with those hitting containers or having to deal with the loss of a rudder through no fault of their own, but there are also a few accounts where the skipper knew what he was doing was foolish, and suffered the consequences - which I have far less sympathy for. All the same you can learn some valuable lessons, even down to how quickly a boat will sink and how to get rescued - i'm glad there were so few fatalities. All in all a great read and a good addition to any sailor's library :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
Excellent read by virtue of format can be put down and returned to and still holds the interest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
The book was an interesting read, but I found some of the "lessons learned" at the end of each chapter somewhat repetitive of what had already been said in the account. I would recommend this book to any sailor just to raise awareness of what can go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Found this book a bit sad, but then what else could I expect?? It is interesting to read how people get into trouble and what happens after. But for me it's a book to dip into rather than to read continually.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I bought this for my husband as a stocking filler and he was pleased with it. However he hasn't started reading it yet.
Delivery was prompt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
A must for anybody thinking of sailing offshore, a very sobering read, but providing areas you could improve on your own boat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)