Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2010
I was looking for a book to help my lad who is doing fitness and came across this book.

Its clear style makes understanding what the body is doing while doing exercise easy to understand, not too much technical details but enough to not scare non doctors.

Its one of those books that you can keep picking up and learn something new all the time.

Clear detailed pictures showing the inner body.

Not being medically qualified I cannot comment on the medical content, but it has certainly helped my lad with his coursework and lesson plans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
As its title suggests, the emphasis is on anatomy. A double-page is devoted to each exercise. One side contains photographs and text to indicate the starting positions and movement paths, together with tips on maintaining balance and faults to avoid. The opposite page contains diagrams illustrating the muscles that are used in each exercise, including the critical stabilising muscles. In some cases, variants to the exercises are given, indicating their relative difficulty.

This book would suit gym-users who want to ensure that they exercise a wide range of muscles. However, it is a collection of exercises rather than a workout programme. It's also a pity that there's no indication of how long you should take to perform each rep.

Still, I find it a useful volume overall.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
I found this book a great source of information when studying for my fitness levels right up to Personal Training, Level 4 Fitness. I still refer to it now and often revise. I recommend this book to fellow trainers and students frequently.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2009
LOOKING FOR A PHYSICAL EXERCISE BOOK THAT HAS AT ALL... EASY READING, FULLY INFORMATION WITH GOOD PHOTOGRAPHIC EXAMPLES PLUS AN EXTRA PAGE FOR EACH EXERCISE OF SKILLFULLY SKETCHED / DIGITALLY CREATED IMAGES SHOWING ANATOMICAL FIGURES HIGHLIGHTING THEIR MUSCULAR ACTIVE RELEVANCE AND NAMING THE MUSCLES INVOLVED ALSO INDICATES THE STABILIZING MUSCLES IN USE.

EACH EXERCISE IS EXPLAINED IN DETAIL FOR CORRECT POSITIONING OF THE BODY AND EXPLAINS THE ACTION AND MOVEMENT PATH ENSURING YOU TO PERFORM THE EXERCISE CORRECTLY. HANDY GRAPHICAL INDEX TOO JUST IN CASE YOU "FORGOT" OR DON'T KNOW THE NAME OF THE EXERCISE YOU NEED. NICE TOUCH...

ALL EXERCISES ARE PRODUCED IN CHAPTERS REFERRING TO DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE BODY I.E. SHOULDERS, BACK, HIPS & THIGHS, CORE ETC; WITH CHAPTERS AT THE BEGINNING ABOUT WARM-UP AND STRETCHING. VERY USEFUL FOR STUDENTS STUDYING ANATOMY WHO WISH TO BECOME PHYSICAL TRAINERS, BODYWORK THERAPISTS AND A VERY GOOD PERSONAL DIRECTORY FOR EXERCISE ENTHUSIASTS.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
Excellent book for training purposes clear and easy to understand and easy to set yourself goals for specific traing needs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
I bought this book for my husband who has had a lifelong interest in this subject. His comments: "Every picture tells a story and these ones tell it all. Impressive, quality book"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
This was bought as a present for someone studying. They have found it very helpful. Clear pictures and very easy to understand.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I already have this book and got it for my brother. I am a fitness nut and think this book is great. It shows you all muscles worked during normal home and gym exercise. Definitely worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
very informative and educational book to use for training.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2017
great book, highly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here