Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2009
This is the third copy of this excellent book I have bought in the past 18 months: one copy for myself and two as presents for close, highly committed birdwatching friends. The reasons I like it so much is because it is one of the few books on the market that show photographs of seabirds as you would see them in the field on a seawatch off your local headland and it focuses solely on how to identify them in flight, which is how one would normally see them. The descriptions are full and informative and the book can easily be carried around if you wish to take it out in the field with you. Some have criticised the quality of the photographs but I would far rather see birds as you would in the field, often at mid or long range, than having full-blown, full frame 'idealised' illustrations or colour photographs, as is to be found in many field guides. For anyone wanting to learn or brush up on their seabird identification skills, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

Ted Parker
Cleveland
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 May 2003
This book is set to become the dedicated sea-watchers bible. Flight photography is very difficult, especially for seabirds and yet this volume contains over 650 generally superb shots, each carefully annotated to pick out the key identification features. Just about every seabird that has ever occurred in European waters has been included including all the American vagrants. (making this book equally valuable to birders on the East coast of the USA.) The authors are experts in their field and they have included a wealth of new information.
The gulls have come in for special treatment with detailed accounts being given for most of the accepted sub-species. Baffled birders can now try to get to grips with "Smithsonianus", "Heuglini", "Cachinnans" etc.
Not just a book for the bookshelf, but one that I expect to see being used in the field as birders try to nail some elusive lifer from a South western headland!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I JUST CAN NOT RATE THIS BOOK TO HIGHLY. IT IS A JEM. BIRDERS, SEA WATCHERS JUST BUY IT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
The order came on time and is brand new.

This book is heavy! and full of info and will be a great help in identifying birds, it was recommended to me and it seems very thorough so far.

The only thing it has going against it is that not all the photo's are in focus, but in saying that they are still good enough quality that you would not confuse the bird for any other similar bird. Photo's are definitely better than drawings or sketches! So this book is doing very well to have so many species all accounted for in photo format and close-up!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
This is an awesome book for anybody wishing to observe sea birds around Britain.
Each species is well described and quality photographs on each.
Well written and easy to understand.

A definate book for any Ornithologists collection
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
I am new to birding and am volunteering with an organisation that records sea bird sightings from vessels. I cannot recommend this book highly enough; a fellow very experienced volunteer had this book on a survey I took part in and it proved very helpful to me so I bought myself a copy. In a setting where birds are likely to be moving and are often far away, it is very useful to have a book that includes such good photos as an aide to identifying seabirds. A fantastic book for beginners and experts alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
The title, Seabird identification of european seabirds, is not what it should be in this kind of book. There is no doubt that authors are experts in the field, but if you want to identify difficult seabirds (gulls and skuas), don't buy this book. Collin's Birds guide by Svensson, Mullarney... is the best and this book offers more clear details. When I got this book I was expecting the real book to identify seabirds in Europe. The pictures in the Seabird identification book are very old, the quality is ridiculous for this new century we are. You can find thousands of superb photos of seabirds in the web, but any of them are used in this book. Instead of that, the authors have used photos from 80'and 90's, and the impression quality is very poor, sometimes the pictures looks like watercolor. I give 2 stars because information is good, but the price you are paying for the book is not worthy. In field guides, pictures are really important, something that authors missed here.
44 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
If pelagic birds is your thing, or even if you need to brush up on your knowledge of seabirds, then this book is for you. Superb photographs and detailed descriptions give you a great insight into the birds listed. Will make you want to head out and do a seawatch, I can guarantee it !!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
A very useful book! Even if You might wish some flock pictures were sharper, they present You a view in "normal" situations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Great informative book for spotting and identifying sea birds.....if thats your thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse