Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2012
I have always wanted to try felting and this Christmas decided to treat myself to several books, the kit required and a stock of wool tops etc: Having mastered the basics I am keen to try the projects in this book, I find it clear and easy to understand. It is great for beginners and experienced alike with good pictures for inspiration. Very pleased with this purchase.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Great book for ideas and development
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
This book is a wonderful inspiration for everyone who knows how to felt but wants to try out more techniques. There is a lot of different ideas worked out step by step followed by more inspirational ideas using the same techniques. I've done two short courses of nunofelt, but with this book i've got enough information to move on and try more things myself.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
I thought this was good from a techniques point of view, but the finished items didn't look terribly attractive. Given that nuno felting is all about texture, I thought the photography was quite poor and didn't show the textures very well. Plenty of good ideas, however.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 December 2008
Nuno is the Japanese word for woven material. This book is subtitled- techniques and inspiration for accessories and home interiors. It explores the making of scarves, shawls, throws, wall-hangings and cushions as well as bags. The projects are very grown-up and sophisticated and not the primary colours and teenage-type products often made with felt. The author produces fine layers of work influenced by organic forms and nature.

To produce these sumptuous items, Liz Clay combines the traditional wool fibres with natural woven fibres from chiffon to muslin as well as synthetic fibres. Lightweight, almost gossamer fabrics can be produced in this way, instead of the chunkier woollen felted look we are used to. The cutwork scarf is a technique I shall be trying out. There is much useful information on techniques such as choice of materials, dyeing and embellishments. The projects are practical and fun with easy to follow instructions.

This lavishly illustrated book fires the senses and makes you want to produce something in felted material. The sensuous softness comes across, the ability of felt to blend and meld is there, the captivating colours. One element is missing and that is a good resources section for materials and further reading.

This handsome book will grace any shelf just as much as the projects will add a touch of sophistication to home and to your wardrobe. All in all, this is a fabulous inspiration to those who already work with felt or are looking for a new craft.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
This book is amazing if you have been felting and want to take things further. It is very very easy to follow with everything set out clearly and wonderful pictures. inspiring and informative
11 Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I am glad to have this book. The book was advised to me by people who felt for quite a few years already. The book explains very well all different kinds of nuno felt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Lovely informative book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
First time I have ever left a review for a book. Most of the projects were 'meh'. Nothing was stunning or inspiring. Of you have any felting knowledge, this is one to take out in the library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)