Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 10 December 2008
This is an essential illustrated guide to over 600 fabric weaves. A such it offers a versatile library of weaving patterns for all levels from beginner to experienced weaver. The book includes an in-depth introduction to basic equipment, fibres, yarns, what to do with the selvedge, sett, how to calculate the warp length and colour theory. The introduction is illustrated with useful drawings.

The 600 patterns include basic threadings, block drafts, lace weaves and special threadings. The patterns are highly useful and include double cloth, more than one colour warp, hand manipulated wrappings, honeycombs, , twills, Swedish lace, herringbone, distorted wefts and a whole lot more besides. Find out how to finish your piece. This section looks at edgings, drawn threads, hemming, fringes and so much more. There is also a glossary, index and resources.

This is the equivalent of one of those wonderful stitches books for knitters. The types of weave shown are comprehensive and are clearly photographed with charts indicating the treading sequence and order of work. You will return to this book time and time again.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
This is the same book as that entitled: Handweaver's Pattern Directory.

It is very well written and surpassed my expectations. It's more than a book of patterns, there's some basic weaving instruction as well: invaluable stuff like yarn choice and calculating how much yarn you need for a warp. It is beautifully and clearly laid out and extremely well illustrated. Once you've learnt how to put a warp on your loom, you could make good use of this book. It gives instruction for twill weave patterns (or structures), not for finished items. Having said that, you could use these weaves for clothing or furnishing fabrics, for towels or blankets, scarves or shawls. Note: This is the same book as that entitled "Handweaver's Pattern Book".
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
An excellent resource for all hand weavers. Clear, bright illustratative photographs of the weaves, with reverse of fabric illustrated, and some alternative colour ways. Brief clear warping instructions included.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
handweaver's pattern book.

I gave this book five stars due to its lovely layout, easy to read format and clarity of explanations.

As a relative novice to weaving, I would recommend this easy to read book which has talked me briefly through a simple table loom, floor looms and equipment. The book provides more detail of yarns and calculations of requirement, along with colour combinations. Its main object is, as the title states, weaving patterns, the charts are very clear with good explanations that I can understand despite still having a lot to learn and having had only two weaving lessons. I believe that those with far more experience may also find much to inspire. A lovely book of excellent value.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
This book has absolutely convinced me that is is not necessary to have a table loom with more than 4 shafts unless you are a serious profesison, and contains enough pattern variants to keep someone with a 4 shaft loom busy for ages.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Full of wonderful colour illustrations of all the weaves with good and clear drafts and other instruction needed. I wish it had drafts for more than 4 shafts, - but I can't blame the book for that, it is what it promises!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
This is the kind of book any person into weaving will love. It is not only inspiring but extremely informative.
I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
Great book, has everything you would need! Love it!! Weaves are clearly written so even the most inexperienced can follow them. It being spiral bound is a great addition to the book as you can leave it out flat while you work.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
The most fantastic pattern book I have ever seen. I find the book very inspiring and user friendly and I have been weaving for 25 years.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
An excellent book beautifully illustrated,in colour.It contains all the neccessary information you need with the added bonus that you can lie it flat while working as it is spiral bound.I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)