Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2013
All you need when combined with Stiles & Skutch. Much more portable and easier to use, as has been mentioned. It would probably be enough on it's own if, like me, you're not a "serious" birdwatcher. However my other half likes to have a proper reference guide when check sightings, back at the lodge/hotel. But she probably uses this book more than Stiles & Skutch or the Ridgely book (which also covers Panama).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
New when I arrived in Costa Rica, now well worn after 2 weeks of continual use. So many species of birds this is an essential book even if you aren't a keen birdwatcher and covers all the species, unlike some other books. Illustrations supported by descriptions and very helpful range maps make this an easy guide to use for identification of all the different species.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I used the book for 2 weeks birding in Costa Rica and found it a very useful guide to identification. It doesn't give all plumages for all species and the maps are a bit small, but with so many birds to describe it would be very difficult to do this in a readily carriable field guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Excellent layout and reasonable size for carrying in backpack. The 'must-have' field guide and probably all you'll need for a one off trip to Costa Rica. If you really want to get into it though you might want to buy a more detailed reference book too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Used a lot on our recent holiday in Costa Rica. Our friend (and guide) had an old stiles and schutch (Probable mis-spelling of authors) bird guide which has been a bible for most but knew of this book.
I liked this book because the layout is better than the other book but in practice sometimes the ID descriptions could be more detailed so it is useful to have the other book around somewhere as standby. It could also just about fit in some pockets.
Our friend liked the book because he felt the colouration of the pictured birds was more accurate than those in the other book.
Overall a success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
An excellent book if you are travelling to Costa Rica. Everyone in our party of 14 had one including the Costa Rican bird expert! You can't get a better recommendation than that!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Excellent field guide, easy to use, clear descriptions, good illustrations and useful maps. This is a must for anyone travelling to Costa Rica intent on bird watching
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Received yesterday for a trip next year. Well laid out and very interesting introduction reading. The layout is well explained and the illustration look great. As good as the Collins books that I have of GB & European birds. It will be a very useful book when visiting Costa Rica.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
If you are travelling to Costa Rica and want to identify birds this is the only practical guide. Comprehensive and well illustrated. And the Amazon price is much less that you would need to pay there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Portable field guides can never be comprehensive but this is a very useful book to have in the field to enable initial identifications. It proved extremely valuable on a recent visit to Costa Rica.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)