Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
105
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 1998
I have read any number of books by small boat sailors, but never have I enjoyed one more than this. Why? I love success stories, and Capt. Slocum was the sort who assured his success before he set out. He anticipated, and prepared for every contingency, and he succeeded in spite of doubters. But, what really sets the book apart is its language and the scope of knowledge of this third-grader. I gave most my other 'sea' books away, but will keep this one forever.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
I share other reviewers' enthusiasm for this book, but for me astonishment and admiration are the dominant emotions it evokes. At an age when most of us are ready to start taking it easy, and long before the days of modern aids to navigation and survival, Captain Slocum cobbles together his tiny boat and sets off around the world single-handed, braving wild seas and fending off wilder but barefoot natives with tin tacks scattered on the deck. Don't look for any modern angst or self-revelation as to why he decided to do it, or what drove him to persist when, for instance, it took him exhausting weeks of battling to get round the Horn. The whole saga is so quietly told that the man's huge competence, sagacity and sheer fortitude emerge only slowly. I'm no sailor, but this is one sailing book that I will always keep to hand for inspiration.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
a unique account of one mans trip around the world, written in a blase style, underplaying the rigours of solo circumnavigation of the globe. humourous at times aswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Probably the first yachting book ever written, fascinating how it was done all though years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Excellent. Sailors, enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
A pioneer and inspiration for all would be sailors..... Fascinating story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Great present for my dad who is really into his sailing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 1997
Slocum eases the reader on an adventure around the world, baiting us along with peaceful respect for the sea, and a love of sloitude. No hollywood storms or disasters. He is as good at story telling as he is at sailing. I would recommend his work to non-sailors and non-adventurers alike. This is a slice of history as he visits the South Pacific and South America in the 1800's, quietly cruising past a world just comming to grips with expansion into unknown cultures and countries. A wise "old Salt" and a teriffic story teller!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2011
This book takes you on a facinating jouney to many wonderful ports & across vast oceans.In a boat that he constucted single handed over 13 months.
the authour is obviously a very human & humuorous man, which makes a very enjoyable read.The trip was made in a in a more innocent time in many ways,which adds to it's appeal.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
The book itself is excellent, but this edition is a very poor buy indeed, and I recommend against buying it. In fact I returned it for a refund.
If you want a fully illustrated edition, this is not the edition that will provide it. Many illustrations are missing, but this is not made clear in the product description, and the "Look inside" facility is misleading, as, for the first few chapters, all the illustrations are present, but from later chapters, many many are missing, and a few are modern substitutes that add nothing.
A fully illustrated version is well worth having, and if you want an illustrated edition, with ALL of the original illustrations, this can be found elsewhere on the web (Project Gutenberg) free of charge. Otherwise the text-only version is available free of charge here in the Amazon Kindle Store.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)