Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2017
We have booked a trip to the Galapagos next year and wanted to find out about the wildlife. Its ok but there is a lot of information on birds that rarely visit the islands. Disappointed that the book does not describe the wildlife on each island.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Great book. Clear and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
This book was invaluable on my recent trip to the Galapagos Islands. The photographs are very good and the book is easy to follow with good referencing throughout. The section on identifying the differences between the Darwin finches is particularly good.
The only annoying issue I have is that the book includes too many photos of birds which are classified as vagrant, recorded once. I've more chance of winning the lottery than seeing any of these!
Overall the book is highly recommended and would appeal most to birders with around 90 out of approx 160 pages devoted to birds.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2006
Andy Swash (photographer) and Rob Still (computer design wizard) have conspired to produce the handiest and most authoritative guide to the wildlife of these enchanted islands. They have pioneered the use of computer enhanced photographs, which combine the advantage of a photograph as an accurate record of an individual, with the artists ability to stress those features that are representative of the species. In one pocket-sized, 168 page, full-colour photographic guide you have all you need to identify almost all of the archipelago's wildlife including every living species of bird, mammal and reptile.

This second edition differs from the first as follows:-

* it includes new species for the islands, such as Green Heron and Grey-headed Gull

* all range maps have been revised and updated

* the cetaceans section has been completely revamped

* a new section on "electronic media" is provided

* the species checklist has been brought right up to date

And since WILDGuides are a non-profit organisation which supports conservation throughout the world, you are helping ensure that the wildlife you enjoy today will still be there for others to enjoy tomorrow. Check out their other titles on Amazon.co.uk, all of which share the enhanced photography approach.

The perfect guide for the curious visitor and expert alike. Look no further!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2005
Andy Swash (photographer) and Rob Still (computer design wizard) have conspired to produce the handiest and most authoritative guide to the wildlife of these enchanted islands. They have pioneered the use of computer enhanced photographs, which combine the advantage of a photograph as an accurate record of an individual, with the artists ability to stress those features that are representative of the species. In one pocket-sized, 168 page, full-colour photographic guide you have all you need to identify almost all of the archipelago's wildlife including every living species of bird, mammal and reptile.
And since WILDGuides are a non-profit organisation which supports conservation throughout the world, you are helping ensure that the wildlife you enjoy today will still be there for others to enjoy tomorrow. Check out their other titles on Amazon.co.uk, all of which share the enhanced photography approach.
The perfect guide for the curious visitor and expert alike. Look no further!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
The book was available on the boat in the Galapagos for us to check our sightings and learn about what we saw. Absolutely wonderful pictures and descriptions clearly set out and easy to read. A perfect addition to my trip memorabilia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
Perfect - quick and easy guide for checking either out in the field or once got back to the hotel - of course still very hard to tell the difference between the different finches!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
An excellent compact guide with lovely illustrations of birds etc in their environment. I disagree with the reviewer who didn't like these! Not too heavy to carry either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
I am going to the Galapagos soon and needed a guide that was comprehensive but not too large or heavy. This is just the job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Seems just what i needed, now to try it out on our visit there, at the end of May 2013
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)