Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2002
This book is an informative and ideal resource for student and practitioner alike. The illustrations carefully lay out the process' and are informative and descriptive. The sections on mould making are especially useful and the book has a wide variety of photographic images that are inspirational and informative. I thorougly recommend this book.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
The book is full of technical and health & safety info, how to make moulds, and the history of plastics and resin. There are some pretty photos of stuff experts have made (if you want to be inspired). It's really a technical book and not a book if you want to have step by step easy projects to follow.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2007
This book is my favourite jewellery manual. It gives you clear instructions, good photography and diagrams and is actually a good read, if you're into your resin jewellery of course.

There are no projects to follow but if you have an idea for a piece of resin jewellery this book will help you acheive your desired effects.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
I bought this book last week and i'm amazed just how much information is packed into it! As a jewellery student i was worried it may be a bit basic for my needs but found it to be jam packed with info on things such as rapid prototyping to electroforming!

plenty of helpful tips on how to cast items of unusual shapes etc... and other problem solving tips.

There's also plenty of inspirational images of other designers work and examples of things non jewellery related to get you thinking about how versatile this medium is!

all this plus its wrote in a very easy to read and follow style, it is excellent for the beginner or the more advanced.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2005
I love this book! I took an instant interest in resin for jewellery after seeing a small project in another book, and had to buy this when I saw it.
This book doesn't really give you any projects to follow, but I think there is enough information about different methods for someone to be able to take it from there, and give it a go.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
Excellent book. Very well illustrated with colour plates and diagrams. Includes U.K. list of resin and rubber suppliers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
There are some lovely photos in this book and it is very informative. Good value for money and arrived less than twelve hours after i'd ordered it! Thsi isn't a book for teaching yourself from- you'd need some additional onformation to get you going and the criticisms by other reviewers that there are no projects are valid but then again this one doesn't advertise itself as offering that and its worth it for the rpice to buy as an inspirational additon and source to look at for detailed information. It would be most useful for students of jewellery and makers with basic grasp of moulding techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
This book is very informative regarding the history of resin, various types, how to mix and colour resin. It also provides useful details regarding mould making. It contains photos of various objects made out of resin. However, I felt as an advertised introductory book to resin jewellery making I would have liked to have seen more photos of resin jewellery and perhaps a couple of projects. Its not a book I would recommend those looking for resin jewellery making inspiration albeit having informative technical information.Resin Jewellery (Jewellery Handbooks)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This book feels dated (published early 00s) thus the inspirational imagery now isn't, a quick google will serve up more exciting examples.

The history and basics are covered but for someone that has taken a 2 day tester course in Resin I felt this book didn't really offer me anything. I was hoping for a book that would show me some fun tips and tricks and maybe a few projects but it just had some very basic mould making instructions. Also most of the theory is based on polyester resin and I use epoxy which is barely referenced.

There are so many great innovative tutorials online I would skip getting it in book form.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Excellent resource book - I have the original edition as well. It's missing a star because I would like more information included. It has the potential to be the "it" book on resin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)