Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 1 June 2007
Ecotourists visiting Madagascar are really lucky.
After the excellent "Birds of the Indian Ocean Islands" an excellent, affordable field guide to mammals in now finally available!

It's hard to know where to start praising this book, but perhaps most importantly, it really IS complete, describing all mammal species found in Madagascar.
The species accounts are incredibly detailed, not only providing extensive info on each species' appearence, behaviour, habitat & distribution, but even telling you where to go to see each one!
Of course excellent photographs (except for a few obscure rodents and bats) and very detailed range maps accompany each species as well.
Additionally, there are highly informative chapters on the various habitats found in Madagascar, on conservation issues, and finally detailed descriptions of the country's top mammal-watching sites, with lists of the most important species to be expected, access, facilities, best season to visit...
For those seriously interested, there is an incredibly long bibliography listing as well.

If I really had to make one complaint about this book, it would be that the format is a bit too large to be convenient for carrying in the field. I wish it could be smaller and thicker, but this size may have been necessary to accomodate several impressive full-page sized photographs.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
This is a great book by Nick Garbutt, who not only really knows the country and what lives in it in great depth, but who is also an exceptional photographer. It is in my opinion the `definitive` work on Madagascar, and whilst substantial it is not to heavy for you to take on holiday if you want to do that. This is the book that everyone who ants to visit Madagascar - or who just dreams of doing so - should have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
A decent book, it arrived with a substantial misprint (pages missing, other pages in twice) so it was sent back. A pity as its actually a very good book - if you have all of it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I took this book along on a 4 week trip to Madagascar, and while it's not really a field guide (slightly too large and too cumbersome to access quickly), it's a great book to read after a good day of exploring Madagascar's nature. It provided substantial added value in my experience of watching the 15 odd species of lemurs that I was lucky to observe in the wild.

But the book is about much more than just the lemurs. It also treats Madagascar's other equally unique mammal species with similar detail. Whether you stumble across a tenrec along a path at night, spot a rat on a canyon floor, see fruit bats in a cave on a river bank, or catch a glimpse of some mongoose fleeing in the shrubbery, Nick Garbutt provides all information you need to ID the species and find out about their lives.

A special note for the excellent pictures that illustrate the book, the vast majority taken by the author himself, which must have been a enormous though thoroughly enjoyable (I'm jealous ;-) ) work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
Having been lucky enough to visit Madagascar, I found this book invaluable. It covers every species of mammal found in the country, although taxonomic changes probably mean that recent "splits" are not covered. However, the book is more than adequate for use by any tourist like myself. Rather like the wildlife of Madagascar itself, there is nothing to match it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
This is a superb book both in the amazing photographs and drawings but also in the information conveyed in the text. A treasure!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Arrived promptly and in excellent condition. This guide will, I am sure, will be great assistance during our forthcoming trip to the Island although trying to differentiate between the different lemurs will be a challenge even with the assistance of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Got this book for my 11 year old who loves lemurs and he really like it. Is a complete guide to mammals of Madagascar. Is a bit advanced for him but's have everything about lemurs one would like to know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Delivered within forecast time. This volume should be a useful supplement to the guide on a planned future trip. After initial scan this will be going with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Well put together good illustrations and will be a great help in the identification of the mammal species on my scientific excursion to Madagascar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)