Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2007
This is the best and only book on the market that gives you a thorough and complete understanding of children's book illustration. With charming examples throughout it gives a sophisticated yet easy to read picture of the current childrens book market and what illustrating for them is really all about.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
As an aspiring children's illustrator I found this to be an excellent book, full to the brim with all the info you need, making your first dummy book to send away to publishers, developing interesting characters, interesting case studies and how to present yourself and your portfolio. I have nothing really negative to add, a great book overall.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
This Book is most helpful especially as I am doing a Book Illustrating Course at College. It answers all the questions I have and it was one of the books recommended by the tutor.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
as i am still in college my tutor suggested this book to me. i have found that every thing is easily explained and is very detailed.
it doesnt just focus on the illustration techniques, it also gives advise on portfolio work and professional practise.
i have now bought this book for freinds.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 May 2009
I found this book very helpful. It is clearly laid out with plenty of examples and pictures to aid and inspire. I would recommend it to anyone starting out in children's illustration.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
This book gives you a real insight on how to get started in children's books illustration. it starts of with a brief history of books and ends with how to get published, every chapter was informative, easy to read, and inspiring. it also includes case studies where individual artists talk about there work and give you an insight on there carer which is useful, it is in full colour and the quality of the book such as the paper stoke is of good quality. i am studying a degree in graphic design and would like to specialise in children's book illustration, this book has help me with my course, i think it would be a most have for all those illustration students out there.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I really benefited from reading this book as it covered the complete range of topics I was interested in. These ranged from the first illustrated children's books through to design styles, different artists, techniques and getting published. A really worthwhile read for anyone considering illustrating children's books, whether professionally or as an enthusiast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
If you are interested in using your art work for illustration like I am this is full of useful advice, well illustrated well worth reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
The book is full of information about illustrating children's books including the history and various technical requirements as well as creating dummy books to the difficult world of publishing. I would highly recommend this book to those seeking to understand this wonderful art form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
I am absolutely happy with this book.
It is very well organised with an eye-catching spreads, it covers the subject in a variety of aspects, including the history of children books illustration, different approaches to illustrating a story and even how things work in the market.
I highly recommend this book specially for those who want to get started.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)