Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 April 2017
Very good book but too basic for me. Recommended for less experienced people who want explanations from first principles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Very good condition and great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2002
I bought this book as a total beginner in boat electrics, hoping to learn the basics, and I'm not disappointed.
The author is very thorough and covers the basics in enough depth so that if you need to understand out how your boats electrics functions, you stand a chance. It sets lots of commonly misunderstood concepts straight too.
The graphics are excellent and augment the written content very well.
My only gripe? It's a bit too tall for the bookshelf on the boat.
11 Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
A very useful book for the newcomer to boat electrics. The diagrams are very well presented and clear. However, there are some omissions, such as no inclusion of types of cable and current carrying capacities, also no mention of types of connector and there colour coding etc. On page 91 the author states that the earth is brought to the neutral point of the isolating transformer, there is no neutral point on an isolating transformer, only two poles. To bond any one pole to earth makes a nonsense of using this device. An isolating transformer is used to isolate the output voltage from the input voltage, thus doing away with the need to earth. A good example is the shaver socket used in bathrooms. Any one pole can be grasped in the hand and with the other hand holding an earth connection, no current will flow. On page 104 the author mentions the problems that could be present when visiting the continent, of reversed polarity, however, this is only a problem with single pole mcb's as used in the UK (single pole MCB's are not allowed in Europe). Because all marina's have to be fitted with 30mA RCD's, cross polarity is not a problem. Any Phase to Earth or Neutral to Earth fault will cause either the marina side RCD or the boats RCD to trip.
Still worth the money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 April 2009
A superb, highly-informative and very readable book suitable for those experienced in marine electronics and batteries while also straightforward for a complete novice to understand. Presentation is exceptionally good with clear illustrative diagrams, sketches and photographs. Also suitable for owners of motorhomes using and charging leisure batteries. A highly recommended read which won't disappoint.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
I bought this book thinking that it would be a good introduction to boat electrics. Unfortunately it's a small collection of general approaches to some aspects of it, not at all worth the price asked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
A shame. I expected more practical help on for example wiring , fuse ratings, and how to actual install electrical items such as winches and so on. Instead I got a thorough grounding on the theorey of electricity as it applies to a boat. I still need to know how to do it in practice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
Alistair Garrod's book "Electrics Afloat" seems to be aimed at people with a boat likley to have a shore link and to be using 240 volt "stuff" and for those people it seems ideal with excellent diagrams and explainations (I'm electro-phobic and I understood it!)

Me?

I've got a dinghy 'wiv a lid on and would have prefered slightly more about 12 volt equipment (reviews of various bits of kit for example). The information it did contain seems, however, beyond reproach, especially the information about the various types of battery available for marine use.

What I'm trying (clumsily) to say is that if you want a comprehensive book about boat electrics then this is the one for you. If like me you want a 12volt only setup you might be better off elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
I like this book because it very clearly illustrates 99% of a boat's wiring - my only negative comment is that I needed more information about echosounders and logs, and their wiring systems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
This is exactly what it says and provides the novice with such a clear picture both in written and visual format. It is a most impressive book that is right up to date with all the modern facilities that one might have on board. Explanations are excellent and the diagrams superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)