Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2004
As the kiln-formed glass tutor at York College, you may take this with a pinch of salt after reading the previous review, but I find this book an excellent reference for glass students, technicians and tutors alike. Anyone even thinking of working with glass should know that temperatures documented in books such as this are intended as a guide rather than specific as all kilns fire differently and tests should be made every time, for every project undertaken regardless. I constantly use this book as reference in my own lessons and find the detailed instructions for fusing, slumping and all forms of casting very helpful. There are lists of materials and their uses along with large colour photos which not only show the brilliance of the material and the range of techniques, but also give inspiration for ideas and applications. If you are an absolute beginner this book can be rather daunting as the language used is not too friendly and is very in-depth for people who are used to project-based books, but the images and the sheer weight of information make up for this.

If you are looking for a step-by-step guide, or for someone to have done all the research and development work for you, this is not the book for you. If you are really interested in investigation and creativity within kiln-formed glass and using it as an art-form rather than just a means of creating a fancy ashtray, this book is fantastic and I have never found another quite so comprehensive and inspirational.
11 Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2003
This book is described as being a 'new version of Keith Cummings classic book' (from about 1982) with the same title. It is far more than an update.
Both the art forms and the technology have moved on significantly in the past 20 years and this book has captured those developments but maintained the links to the past - so much of what do today is a rediscovery or reinvention of a long lost technique and books such as this provide not only the knowledge but inspiration to take these processes further.
The only downside of the book is the formal nature of its text - my personal preference is for slightly less restrained style. The book is beautifully illustrated with colour plates, black and white photographs and line drawings used to their best effect.
This book has quickly become one of my most loved and it is my constant companion - I always seem to find something new in it.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Professor Keith Cummings is a legend in English Glass circles and there is no surprise as to why. I cant understand why anyone who has any knowledge of glass wouldn't have his books in their personal library.

He always has something new to add to even the ancient techniques and certainly inspired me to take some risks in developing my own style both in the furnace room and with the kiln. professor Cummings books doesn't spoon feed you. If you're looking for spoon feeding go get the idiots guide in a college library. His books are inspirational and bring to the glassmaker, both novice and experienced a new approach to old techniques, with a few tricks and new ways to do things on the way.

Pity he has now retired, as the opportunities to see him work or listen to him speak are progressively becoming fewer and further between.

make sure you have a copy of this book, before it goes out of print. Its value will increase in price long before it becomes an antique publication.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2005
If you are interested in kiln formed glass this book will have you hooked! It explains all the processes and has good examples of other artists work! A must for a glass student!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
I only just received the book but it is truly amazing! I was immediately taken by it -- full of illustrations of gorgeous art glass and every one is accompanied by an explanation of thetechnique. Will revise this review later on.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
Keith Cummings is legend. This book is a must have for any glass maker - it is full of fantastic information.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2016
Very good book. A must have for every glass artist. Maybe not for a beginner. I read over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
Recommended by a friend and well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2001
I am a glass student, who has countlessly had my lecturer tell me to buy this book. I ended up buying it and i must say, it is terrible! This is so frustrating when you see some of the techniques that you like which don't even have temperatures assigned to them, so what's the point? In one instance, the book demonstrates that glass at 550 degrees celcius will bend, but after running my own kiln test this was proved to be not the case. The only piece of infomation that I found useful in this book was the temperature diagram; this should be taken with a pinch of salt since this, too had innaccuracies.
This book does contain some very pretty pictures and describes techniques briefly - but there is certainly no detail to work from. My advice after reading this book or review would be to run your OWN tests first.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)