Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2016
This is a good book , however it isn't really for beginners, I'm not a beginner myself so I think that is a fair comment , it is a lovely book though and useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Beautifully produced book but makes the jump from "painting by numbers" level to "Gainsborough / Turner / Michelangelo" level very quickly!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
A very good book but as a beginner cannot emphasise enough the amount of practice required to come up to the standard of painting required. Lots of good ideas for practising.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
This met all my requirements for subject matter, descriptions for drawing/painting and techniques .,. Illustrations are superb and make the all practise sessions a joy .I intend to purchase more of this series of books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Botanical Illustration Course with the Eden Project is one of a pair of books purchased at a good price. It lives up to expectation, with beautiful finished drawings and paintings to admire and step-by-step technical guidance for the learner. Highly recommended by professional illustrators yet easy for the amateur to follow.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
A lovely book to keep beside you as you work on your painting, especially for those like me lacking in imagination, self confidence and courage to take a chance!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Does what it says on the cover! Lovely book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
Classical book. You should see it at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
I have had several bouts at using course books to learn technique and have found most to be difficult and not very helpful. The artist always seems to go from point a to point b- from the drawing of the subject, with some comments about colour use to the final painting without adding the in between stages. This book, is just the oppostite. It is not a book of "demonstrations" to teach you how to paint by using someone elses method. What it does is give you guidelines, advice and inspiration, while giving lessons and tips on how to improve ones drawing in order to produce an outcome suitable to that persons stage of development. You learn to approach things in the right way to produce a good piece of work and to put forth your own creative abilitities. There is no step by step guidelines on colour or compostion but instead you are given advice on how to best approach these subjects through observation and time spent on the pursuit of becoming a competent botanical artist. As a result, you develop your own style and take the time to explore things such as compostion and paint colours making you in the end a much more knowledgeable, confident and competent artist. A book well worth the cost and thoroughly recommended by anyone wanting to have a go at drawing plants and flowers.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 15 November 2008
No wonder this book was voted Practical Art Book of The Year in 2007, it is a book to grace any artist's shelf and has become a firm favourite with me. There is a very good reason for this, I love to paint but I do not consider myself to be good at drawing. I have therefore, always opted for 'impressions' of flowers. I have tried many drawing course books, only to fail at almost every step. The big difference is that this book really works and at last I am proud at my drawing efforts.
This book is for all levels of botanical illustrators and it is full of practical information that is easy to apply to your own projects. Advice given includes how to set up a studio, mixing colour and composition. The steps are easy to follow - come on, if I can do it, you can. All the basics of drawing are here. Starting with pencil, this book takes you through the stages from basic skills to advanced techniques to complete works in colour. The finished illustrations in this book are exquisite and throughout the book is well-presented and easy to use.
If there is one book that can inspire you to illustrate, this is it. Worth every penny.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)