Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2002
If you are a furniture maker and wanted to purchase one book on furniture making and the relevant techniques,this is the book to invest in. I spent five years at Buckinghamshire College studying furniture design and craftsmanship and this is the book recommended to all students.
The book covers every aspect of making furniture including materials,tools,equipment,construction,fixtures and fittings,setting out,draughtsmanship and includes examples of completed furniture designs.
When I am starting a new project and require information, on say construction or fixtures and fittings I always find an answer to my question in this book.
It is worth the money.
0Comment| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
Working with my brains most of the day for money, i decided on woodworking as my balancing hobby. My first problem was where to start in all aspects of woodworking such as tools, wood and joints. I had a book for beginners, but the projects and materials shown in there were terrible and I soon grew out of it. After buying lots of other books on specialized topics, I found this book by Joyce. Yes you feel it's age in text and drawings, but this should have been my second book. All joints, all techniques and all the construction details I will ever need are in there, and information about tools and wood. Not a book to read from front to cover, but to study a selected topic at night on how to proceed with the project at hand the next day.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
A good study book showing most techniques but now slightly out of date as machinery and tools have moved on, hence some illustrations are also dated. This is still a pretty much complete introduction and a worthwhile purchase either for a beginner or more experienced maker wishing to expand their knowledge and abilities
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Well dear readers I can sum this book up in one word,,, Excellent.
It's wonderfully clear and concise. There's no padding out, it's just facts advice, facts advice, from start to finish.
The instructions are so clear, after reading you feel you could attempt some of the wonderful furniture in the photographs.
Once read you can appreciate why this book, in all it's incarnations, is so highly thought of.
If you have an interest in woodwork or furniture making, you need this book. There is so much covered in it you could go chapter by chapter and gain an understanding you didn't possess at page one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
An excellent reference book covering a huge range of topics. Any furniture making book that Alan Peters would endorse has got to be a good addition to the library.
The Technique of Furniture Making
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2009
Excellent in-depth book of techniques for all types of cabinetmaking with clear explainations of how and when to use each type of joint. Machine work and care of tools are covered as well as how to sharpen your cutting tools. Some pictures of workshop machines are quite dated but otherwise a first class reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2010
After encountering difficulty obtaining this book at an affordable price I was extremely pleased to receive the book from Hay on Wye booksellers in excellent clean second hand condition. It was needed as a recommended book for my son at university and is now out of print.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2009
This book is like the "Bible" of furniture making, a must for anyone wanting to know about the construction of furniture.
I have studied Cabinet Making at college, and this book helped me all the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
It's a bit dated but the essence of this tome is utterly relevant, just try to read between the lines sometimes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
Brilliant book covers everything from tools through to finishes well worth a purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)