Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
48
Into That Darkness: From Mercy Killing to Mass Murder
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 April 2016
A harrowing read and came recommended to me as i am studying this subject matter at the present time. After visiting the places recently where Stangl was present, this book shed new light on the places i had been to. Very good reading and Gitta Sereny has produced a literary classic that will forever be used by historians to delve int the process and minds of these perpetrators of the Nazi Genocide. Hard read for the subject material does delve into Stangls thoughts and mindset.
Interesting to note that Stangl admitted his guilt and sone 19 hours later died of a heart attack. Mysterious endings!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2016
This is an extraordinary book. Thoughtful, challenging, deep in insight but low in judgement. It is an important book for all who can manage it to read, to get some sense of the nazi machine and to understand how ordinary people were able to distance themselves from the terrible things they were doing.

This edition is horrible, though. Badly printed with poor paper and uneven inking. This book deserves a much better edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
A book written some years ago but ,I believe,still the definitive account of the life of the infamous Franz Stangyl.Sometimes a difficult book to read but most of Gitta Serenys books are on difficult subjects.Also a good account on the role of the Catholic church and the Pope during and at the end of the war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2016
Any book by this author, who is now sadly no longer with us, is highly recommended and this one is no exception. Gitta was one of the very few people to have interviewed some of the former and more notorious Nazis who survived the war and as such her work will be, if it is not already, invaluable references for the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
A credit to the author for the huge amount of research/interviews done in putting this book together. Interesting and thought provoking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
the most interesting book I have ever read a truly amazing story it isnt just about condemning the subject it is virtually impossible for us today with the wisdom of hindsight to understand how a basically decent man could get drawn into such a disaster
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2016
A detailed insight and explanation of the how regular people became mass murderers under the Nazi regime. A study of conscience and how one is able to justify anything to oneself, even the murder of a million people. A really interesting read if you are baffled by the way people compromise their values and continue to consider themselves decent and good even when they are killing thousands of people every day for years. Maybe a little too much detail at times, but it seemed to be well put together and thoroughly researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
Good read, well researched and well written, have read books by Gitta Sereny before and was impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2017
I first read this book 25 years ago and bought it now to refresh my memory on a book that I remembered as outstanding - and I was not disappointed. The coolness of Sereny's tone belies the horror she hears and records and enables us to read of awful things while following every step of the journey of the terrible Stangl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2016
A very well resourced,interesting written book on the death camp. I recommend to any one interested in this, to my mind,

unexplainable period in the worlds history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)