Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
Great translation. worth the expense if you want an easy-to-read translation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Such a lovely read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2004
Miller's translation of the Gita is an excellent addition to this library. He retains the poetic structure of the original while writing in clear, accessible English. This book provides a good way into the Gita for those approaching this work for the first time and leads to additional insights for the reader familiar with the epic conversation between Prince Arjuna and the Lord Shri Krishna. The translator's notes and introduction are helpful to those interested in the context, as is the inclusion of a short essay by Mahatma Ghandi.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
The author is well known for his many translations of spiritual classics and is accepted as someone who strongly interprets rather than translates.
However, although I am not a scholar, I have read the academic versions that are recommended by University courses, and I think that this version, although taking some liberties, is not far from the stricter versions.

It is also highly readable and I now find all other translations cumbersome, as if they are missing the point somehow.

I love this version and recommend anyone who loves the Gita to check it out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2001
A battle is about to take place and the warriors are readying themselves for the call to fight. The war is between two sides of a family, one 'good' and one 'bad', representing our human struggle between good and evil. Arjuna, a young warrior is faced with his conscience just before the battle begins and turns to his charioteer, Krishna, a Hindu incarnation of God. He asks Krishna whether he should fight. Krishna replies with a long eloquent speech about the nature of duty and action, always presenting an answer to Arjuna's human cries for spiritual help. The text takes place in an elongated moment, while the rest of the scene is poised in a still frame. It is a beautiful commentary, teaching us many truths about our existence.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Stephen Mitchell is a strange man. He admits to not knowing the languages he 'translates' but he goes right ahead and translates them anyway! The Bhagavag Gita isn't a poem. Sanskrit is a musical language and the Gita was sung. It really isn't translatable anyway and all Stephen Mitchell does is pile a load of Gita's on his desk and copies. Anybody can do that!

We may as well read the works of a man fluent in Sanskrit and English. There are many versions out there written by swamis.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
very very useful for my yoga study, it is very good translation, it all arrived in time eventualy although it got lost in the post.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
One of the most beautiful books I have read ... A song that lifts the heart and teaches you of the greatness and frailty of man!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Such an amazing journey through being guided by and inspired by this magical art book. Highly recommended to read !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
Item arrived on time and exactly as described, thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)