Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
101
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2002
This book is perfect for people who really want to learn classic songs on guitar that aren't too hard to play. It's also for those who don't want to rely on dodgy net tabs and chords. This book helps by being set out clearly with the lyrics and most songs fit on 1-2 pages, so you don't have to stop and turn the page! It includes a playing guide, full lyrics and chord boxes illustrating new chords and other interesting ways of playing simple chords. This book is packed with old classics from legends such as THE BEATLES, BOB DYLAN, VAN MORRISON, THE EAGLES, JAMES TAYLOR and many more! In all, 80 classics from the 60s and 70s, arranged in the original keys from the artist's recordings, perfect for beginners and more advanced players.
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2002
This book is fantastic. Easy tunes to play from David Gray to Travis to Crowded House to the Stereophonics to Paul Weller etc. The list of top bands and tunes are endless. Up to date and class. I haven't been able to put it down since I bought it last week, and I'm driving everyone mad!!This is a must for any budding guitarist.
11 comment| 113 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2001
As a total beginner I wouldnt recommend this book. There is only one page of tips at the back and I was hoping for some step by step instructions for the total beginnner. On the plus side, there are some really good songs in the book. If you want easy play Knocking on Heavens Door, think there are only 4 chords in it. My boyfriend thought i was a real pro. Now need to buy a Capo as a lot of the songs require use of a capo.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2004
I like these books, I really do, they easy to read, but a challange to play, and contain some good songs. Then you get another book in the 'Acoustic Guitar Songbook series', and realise some of the songs have been repeated. I have four of the books (Big, Platinum, Great, Greatest), and was a little disappointed to find that I had paid for quite a number of songs twice. Still, aside from this, I can't fault the books.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2005
This is a good buy for anyone that is in the beginner to intermediate reange of guitarist. There is nothing too demanding here and it is the simply lyric and chord layout (with handy chord boxes at the top of each song. For a bit of fun and a sing along, this series of books cannot be faulted. I do agree that there is a little duplication if you happen to buy every book in the series, but I can live with that!
As I say, for beginner to intermediate, if you fancy a strum, buy this!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2002
A good selection of songs with a range of easy to hard(ish) chords to play. However there is no music in this book so if you don't know the melody you are stuck!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2004
The classic tracks in this book are varied , and can be played by all standards of guitarist . Many's the time this book has been put to good use in a party sing song ! Highly recommended .
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2008
I bought the first Big Acoustic Guitar Chord Songbook a few years ago, it was good value and had plenty of well known tunes with only a few fillers. However, this Platinum edition has far too many rare and barely known songs for my liking. Out of the 80 tunes I reckon about 20 are well known classics, so its hardly great value for money..
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2002
The book is a good chord book but some of the chords are a little obscure and take a bit of learning. Having said that, there are some easy songs in there as well. Possibly suffers from trying to cater for everyone but overall a decent buy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2004
The title of this book suggests more than that which is delivered. Whilst there is indeed a range of artists and music for almost all tastes, the book is in no way "big". If you are looking for a book which will provide you with hundreds of tunes, look again.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)