Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2014
Excellently written compact book with very nice photos of parts of hidden London. Zena Alkayat captures spirit of these little enclaves of London away from the usual tourist hotspots. It encourages you to go out and explore this great and varied city. I first heard about this book on Robert Elms BBC London 94.9 show and highly recommend it to any who wants explore and support independent retailers. Zena should write other books for the other cities in the UK, which I am sure have village enclaves of there own worth exploring.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
What a lovely little book. So full of places to go and see that i never even knew was there. A lovely size book not to small full of wonderful pictures with the quality of the book and paper excellent. A pleasure to look at and read and cant wait to go and now find all this lovely places. If you love London and enjoy wandering around finding new places which are not on the map then this book is perfect. Also makes a lovely gift for friends.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
all the details and information you require for an in-depth appreciation of the great city.

best of all, you do not have to finish the book on the first visit. use it sparingly to gain the most and best rewards.

by the time the book has been exhausted - you start again, as places will have changed too some extent.

a long term read to parts of the metropolis that you never knew existed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Super book given as a present to daughter living in London. Some of the villages she already knew about but a lot were new to her so she is delighted as she does like to explore as much of London as she can whilst there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
I was slightly disappointed with this book in that it does not cover the 'villages' in any sort of depth. more of just catching a passing glimpse .. It is a topic that would really lend itself to a much much bigger book..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
I've explored a few of the areas in this book and as a northerner I've found it really useful as I would never have found these places on my own. It takes you away from the busy tourist areas and to more interesting parts of London.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
This may be small in size, but everything about it is just delightful. It's impossible to read this book without being swept away by the knowledge and passion of the writer. Everyone will find something to surprise and inspire them in London Villages, whether they're new to the city or born and bred.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Again this is a pressie for my niece going to London to study. I've also bought 1 for myself. I'll enjoy reading it then take it with me when I'm over there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
excellent as a present thankyou
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I bought this book to get to know more about London's hidden gems. The book has a card stock like cover so it's easy to flip through, although it is smaller in dimensions than I expected. It's pretty with lots of pictures but very succinct in the descriptions. The "navigation" is mostly frustrating as the table of contents shows numbered areas laid out on a map, subdivided into cardinal point areas but there's no mention to which borough / neighbourhood or even closest station they're actually in; for this you have to go to the village section, which is a bit of a pain as the page number for each village is not listed in the table of contents itself. If you're just flipping through, the top of the page only contains the village name with no reference to which area of the city you're looking at; if you're unfamiliar with some parts of London, you'll have to go and look at the beginning of the area section or at the table of contents to find out. At first one might think the last comment a little petty when you have villages named Highgate, Chelsea or Brixton, but for Exmouth or Goldborne Road... I lived in London for the past 6 and a half years, never heard of them and wouldn't even guess where they're supposed to be located. So, overall: lots of pictures, not a lot of information.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)