Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
42
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£40.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2012
Utterly brilliant. If you have ever looked up at some terraced façade on a dark London afternoon and seen through its first floor windows the ceiling of a mighty chamber - and wondered who lived there, and who built it, and what paintings hung there - this book gives you your answer; Great Houses of London opens up those locked double doors and guides you around with scholarly comment and underplayed wit.
Everyone will have their favourites, but I especially loved the dwellings of the Duchess of Marlborough, the Italian Ambassador, Richard Rogers and Jimmy Page. There are scores more, including a magnificent Nazi creation on the Mall, the Archbishop's hammer-beamed palace in Lambeth, and the achingly lovely Whitehall rotunda (now a government office) where Byron seduced Lady Caroline Lamb. This book is - in every sense - a tour de force.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
A magnificent volume, by far the best of its kind I've seen (and I've seen a lot o them) with several unexpected gems as well as the usual ones which have already been covered well enough. Engaging, informative text and really superb photography by the best man there is for this kind of thing. A coffee table book which deserves to be read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
I used to live in London in Kensington high street and one of the houses featured was actually right across the street from my flat and I,ve always wondered what the inside of these beautiful houses around the city would look like.Thanks to this wonderful and informative book we get to see beautiful and imposing architecture dotted around London as well as a glimpse of their equally beautiful interiors.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is an expensive book but well worth the money if you are interested in great houses. The photographs are brilliant and the text throws a fascinating light on the history of each house. It is surprising how many great houses there are in London and this book allows us to see inside many houses which are never open to the public.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Great Houses isn't just about the great houses of Lomdon it includes noteworthy houses of the professional classes too. Great palaces and mansions of the aristocracy and the nouveau riche yes, and the more domestic houses of artists, architects etc. This book addresses a gap in the literature, their country bretheren and well documented but the houses of London have been strangeley neglected.
The history appearance of each house is briefly described the illustrations are gorgeous If you enjoy interior design magazines or just riffling throught the property pages of Country life, you'll enjoy this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Beautiful photography and detailed, concise information about the various properties contained within it s pages. This is lovely to give and receive. I bought it as a gift but would be so pleased to own a copy myself. Urges one to seek the houses out and explore these truly extraordinary houses in our great capital city.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Excellent quality book. very informative and detailed. Well presented and edited with high quality photographs and informative writing. The authors has really treated the subject with great skill without gushing. A much recommended addition to any library which will appeal to a wide range of readers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
I had great expectations about this book, they weren't disappointed. Over 40 of London's most beautiful palaces, mansions and town houses in a 300+ page book. Great paper quality, excellent photos, a must for any exterior and interior architecture lover and discerning connoisseur of London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
Fantastic read, the pictures are beautiful, it's made me want to go and visit some of these homes that are open to the public. Some don't look that hugely spectacular from the outside but what treasurers within! Perfect book to dip in and out of when you have time. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Better and much larger than expected. Wonderful photographs. Fascinating to look through. Look forward to planning some walks in London to look at some of the houses.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)