Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
35
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2014
Not as good as the Old House handbook. Interesting but a bit thin in content.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Interesting. Alas we have more or less finished changing, updating, refurbishing our 1860 semi-setached, 8 bedroom house...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Bought for our daughter who is facing an extension and renovation job on a mid-victorian detached house. She is pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Excellent book for surveyors and anyone interested in houses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Excellent and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
This book does provide quite a bit of good information but there would be room for much more detail if so much space wasn't wasted.

For example at one point there is a photo of a skip captioned "Think carefully what goes into a skip". I think we all know what a skip looks like! Elsewhere there is a photo of boarded up houses with the caption "These boarded up houses in Nelson, Lancashire are under threat of demolition". What useful information is this imparting that will help me make my house more sustainable? These are just two examples of a number of photos which seem to serve no purpose other than to pad out the book.

When we do need details then the book can be lacking. For example the job that I am most interested in now is insulating a suspended timber floor and a good cross section is included showing how to insulate such a floor. However there is no diagram or other information about what you do at the edge of the floor where the joists enter the wall.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Birthday present for my brother who just loves it from start to finish! Well worth every penny spent on this informative book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I was disappointed with this book, as it still leaves questions unanswered to the lay person like me! Makes a good coffee table book, but not really a guide.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Lovely book. Prompt delivery before Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This was not what I was hoping for. It is not a how to book or really an ideas book more of a coffee table which is a shame.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)