Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2017
Beautifully presented and informative, obviously written by someone who loves the area. Supplied second hand but literally as new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2008
Like many people I have a DSLR camera, I buy books and attend courses in the hope of producing an occasional image that is worthy of putting on the wall. Fran's book is an inspiration to keep going and not give up. It shows what art is in the digital domain. The images are stunning of the Peak District and show its beauty and splendor with a wide range of images across the terrain and throughout the seasons. From my own meek efforts I can see the work and time that has gone into capturing the images. I highly recommend the book for those heading out to capture landscapes, as a reference point in thinking about and planning any landscape imaging quest, or simply those wanting to gain a deeper insight into the landscape. It has to be one of the best image books available of the Peak District.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2008
What a wonderful gift. The photography is stunning and really shows the beauty of the Peak Distric in all its forms and weathers', a very welcome difference to most books on the P.D. It is also clearly evident that Fran knows what she is talking about and is a mind-field of information regarding geology, the area and many other things and, of course, how to produce amazing landscape photography. I would suggest this book for any lover of landscape and\or those interested in the P.D and the geology of the area. Enjoy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
I've lived here in the south west peak area for about 5 years and often get out and about with my camera gear i thought i would buy a book covering the whole peak area so i could see what was out there for my photography
I decided on Fran Halsall's book The Peak District thinking it would just be another mediocre book on the subject "suprise suprise" Fran has done a lot of research for this book and it makes for great informative reading'and the best part for me is' she is a fantastic photographer'as a amateur photographer myself into landscape i can appreciate the effort she as put into these photographs'i dont think that there is a better book out there on this area than Frans'exellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Just recieved this lovely book today, big pages, every one with magnificent photos of peak district, some filling whole page, just the right amount of text for each photo. A few pages on history & geology of the area, and a couple of simple maps at beginlng. If this book does not make you won t to visit PEAK DISTRICT, then nothing will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
The subject & content of the book were very well researched over an extensive period. Photography excellent & superbly balanced for seasons/time of day, geography/geology, historical content/agricultural/industrial/current uses, etc, etc. The text complemented all the preceding topics thoroughly & excellently. I could not fault it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
An excellent book from a master photographer. I cannot wait to revisit the Peak District with my camera at the ready.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Present for my mum - gorgeous images, fantastic coffee table book. Well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Exceptional photography. Certainly encourages you to visit this area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Nice book, lots of photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)