Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
Lovely book, fabulous condition, great service.
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Just beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2007
This is a stunning book, not only for armchair gardeners but also for those seeking practical advice. There is also much interesting history about gardening in general and the gardens specifically. The photos are superb, and made me want to rush off immediately to see the gardens. I have only a small town garden, but have definitely been inspired by the planting schemes shown from castle to cottage.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
How delighted I was to own this book. Missed it when it was first released; was reading comments on it and decided to buy. A big book with fantastic, sharp and clear photos by Andrew Lawson. A very well recommended book. Hope it keeps in print.You will want to refer back to it often.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
Beautiful pictures & informative writing - a nice balance between the 2.
There's something for anyone with an interest in English gardens & horticulture whatever your sphere of interest - be it landscape, water & even kitchen gardens.
I enjoyed every minute of reading it & even tried to spread out the experience by just reading a few pages every morning - which I found started my days on a serene & positive note!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2007
Most of gardens of the world can be put into two major categories: formal gardens and naturalistic gardens. The formal gardens are represented by Egyptian gardens, Persian gardens, Islamic gardens, Italian gardens, French gardens, and some American gardens, etc. The naturalistic gardens are represented by some famous English gardens, Chinese gardens, and Japanese gardens, etc.

If you mention English gardens, most people will think of large areas of lawns, trees, garden architecture, lakes and sky. These are the basic elements of a typical English landscape garden.

"The English Garden" covers not only the typical and well-known English landscape gardens, but also formal garden layout ("formal bones"), country gardens, kitchen gardens and contemporary gardens, influences from abroad, as well as garden ornament, plant materials such as English roses, etc.

Ursula Buchan and Andrew Lawson wrote: "All gardens, if they can be described as such, have ultimately to do with the desire of their maker to control their surroundings." They continued to discuss the various periods of English gardens including the Roman period when the early formal gardens dominated and the Landscape Movement period when geometric forms were intentionally rejected. They also discussed knot gardens and parterres, Medieval courtyard gardens, the Arts and Crafts style, the cottage gardens and the New Naturalism.

"The English Garden" is one of the most comprehensive books on English gardens open to visitors. It has 240 pages and over 300 colour interior photographs. It is an indispensable book for English garden lovers.

Gang Chen, Author of "LEED AP Exam Guide" & "Planting Design Illustrated." LEED AP, AIA
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
A really good book to curl up in a chair with on a miserable day,and the pictures are just great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Purchased as an 80th birthday gift for an ex-pat English woman. She loves the book. She a is a keen gardener herself and has a large area of land here in NZ in which she has devoted many hours to her garden. She knows and recalls many of the gardens featured in this book and speaks very highly of the quality of the writing and the photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
A really outstanding tour de force. A comprehensive overview of the subject with perfectly chosen photographs. I must say this book has helped me hugely understand my own likes and dislikes, truly inspirational. I am definitely planning some interesting garden outings next time I am in the UK. A "must" for garden lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
I gave this book to my garden-loving daughter as a present but couldn't resist dipping into it myself as I am also a garden-lover. The photos are magnificent, the text informative and interesting. There was nothing I did not like about it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)