Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
27
4.8 out of 5 stars

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2016
I have been to Charleston and was enchanted by it. This book does a good job to capture the beauty and uniqueness of the house and explain the stories of its inhabitants and the artistic work done here. It reads well and the photos are lovely. A beautiful book, wonderful as a memory of Charleston for those who have been there or as information for those who have not seen it live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
After a visit to the house this book explained so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
A recent visit to Charleston in Lewes after a 17 year gap left me completely in awe of the Bloomsbury group. This book is well illustrated and informative and a must if you are interested in Sackville West, Bell, Lytton Strachey, Woolf or any of the other members of this alternative bohemian set. I have also bought the an embroidery/tapestry book via Abebooks so that I can recreate some of the incredible and still contemporary looking textiles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Really high quality print of the house and artefacts with pictures, often full page, on every spread and text to take you through each room. A must for the avid Bloomsbury fan but also a delightful coffee table book for the unfamiliar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
An excellent book, full of interesting text, and packed with first-class colour plates. This book completely captures the magic of the Bloomsbury group of artists. A book, which I can strongly recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Bought to read before I visited this amazing house - really really well written, love it and the house.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I have visited Charleston Farmhouse a number of times. You either love it or dislike it. I love it and this book is fabulous. The photographs cover nearly everything in the house and garden. This is a real quality book, well worth the low price considering the amount of brilliant photography. Reading it brought many happy memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
We just moved to Brighton and saw a film called Carrington all about the Bllomsbury set in the 1920s we made a Pilgramage to Charleston to prey at the Altar of Artistic Triumph
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I bought this for a friend's birthday after a visit to Charleston. It is a gorgeous book. Now I want one for myself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)