Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
27
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2013
I have visited Charleston Farmhouse a number of times. You either love it or dislike it. I love it and this book is fabulous. The photographs cover nearly everything in the house and garden. This is a real quality book, well worth the low price considering the amount of brilliant photography. Reading it brought many happy memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Quintessentially English. Marvellous look at Charleston , the Bloomsbury sets home in deepest Sussex which they decorated with murals and their 'Omega' style furniture, Fantastic photographs. A must for Bloomsbury fans, Vanessa Bell, Duncan Grant , Virginia Woolf et all.Great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I purchased this book after a visit to Charleston and loved it. The colour photographs of the house itself are gorgeous and the family photographs and personal memories of the family members who lived there bring the house and its history to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Really high quality print of the house and artefacts with pictures, often full page, on every spread and text to take you through each room. A must for the avid Bloomsbury fan but also a delightful coffee table book for the unfamiliar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
If your interested in the bloomsbury set, this edition is full of lovely photograghs and explains very well the various individuals and their role within it. very inspiring, i would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
I originally bought this book at 'Charleston' when I visited first time 8 years ago.......bought this second copy, as original is so well thumbed, that I decided to get another while still available. It is an excellent insight into daily life at 'Bloomsbury in Sussex', with wonderful photographs and details of every room and its past occupants. A truly delightful book (one of my most favourites), and at this price not to be missed. A definate must for all devotees of this remarkably talented circle of artists and innovators.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
We just moved to Brighton and saw a film called Carrington all about the Bllomsbury set in the 1920s we made a Pilgramage to Charleston to prey at the Altar of Artistic Triumph
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
One of the best books on Charleston that I have come across.
Great photos showing the artwork and the house in its true glory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Personally, I find this period a major fascination and this book provides a rich collection of the Bloomsbury style and atmosphere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Bought to read before I visited this amazing house - really really well written, love it and the house.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)