Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2006
An excellent introduction and reference book for growing salad plants. The usual supects are covered as well as some rather more obscure ones. Creatively illustrated with marvelous photography, Larkcom firstly arranges chapters of salad plants such as stems and stalks, fruiting vegetables etc., as you would expect, but also flowers, herbs and wild plants. She then turns her attention to cultivation and finally ends with a few recipes. Anyone interested in starting a small kitchen garden, allotment or potager will find this invaluable and desperately inspiring. Joy Larkcom has been growing food since the seventies and her knowlege and clear style are inspiring.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
As a beginner gardener, I find this book an inspiration, especially with the photos showing exactly what the leaf looks like. The recipes at the end of the book are also fantastic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
A very informative book. I love salad and a complete book on the subject is a great addition to my bookshelf. Having just taken over a rather overgrown allotment, I intend to grow lots of salad as it will give me inspiration being so fast growing and make me keep digging harder to improve the rest of the patch.
The book is well set out in chapters covering all salads and vegtables that can be used in salad either raw or cooked. The photos and illustrations enhance.
All in all a beautiful book that I am very pleased I bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Along with Charles Dowding's 'Salad Leaves for all Seasons', possibly, the most important gardening book that you will ever buy. Learn to love salad leaves by growing them organically and enjoy the immediate health benefits that they provide. I've just bought a second copy for my daughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Good garden writer, though I'm not as blown over as some by her books. On the other hand, she did bring us "Salad Leaves", with mixed salad leaf seeds all planted together, which fantastic for every garden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
An amazing book full of advice and tips for all salad crops that can be grown in the UK! Great for the garden grower and the smallholder and everyone in between!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Another great book from the best writer on vegetable gardening, Many innovative techniqies, varieties and species.Fantastic photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Informative and easy to follow. An enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Lovely book, very informative and inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
good book very informitive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)