Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2012
There is nothing I can add to previous comments about this labour of love from Joe Brown and the wealth of data on every page.
Greatly expanded from the previous editions it contains more and more minutiae making it a masterwork of the History of London's Railways as well as a cartographic record.
Sadly and unlike previous editions the publisher seems to have gone for a cheaper poorly coated paper leaving some of the detailed printing - of which there is a great deal - indistinct and lacking in depth. Shame on you, Ian Allan.
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I've all three editions of Joe Brown's "London Rail Atlas" and each has built on the one before.

The first edition didn't show individual track layouts, apart from the enlarged sections. Hence double track was shown by a thick line, single by a thin one. What it did clearly illustrate though, was the geographical juxtaposition of underground and overground lines in the capital.

The second edition, in a larger format, introduced individual track layouts, though in complex locations these weren't always totally accurate.

This latest edition has over 20 extra pages of maps/enlargements and brings the story up-to-date. Actually beyond, for some of the track layouts show the situation after completion of Cross-Rail in 2018. Dates are now given (where known) in full, rather than to the year as in previous editions.

However the quality of the paper has declined and it can be quite difficult to see some of the detail; particularly the disused lines. I feel for the author as he's obviously put a lot of effort into adding all this extra detail.

There are some errors in track layouts and I'm not sure if this format can quite give the detail of those maps previously produced by the Quail Map Company. For example, Waterloo is drawn so small that not all the crossings and slip points are shown (something that Quail also got wrong to be honest). Also the layout of Charing Cross includes at least one error, but now I'm nit-picking.

I look forward to the 4th edition, hopefully on decent paper and with slightly clearer (and accurate) track layouts of each of the main termini.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Firstly, paper/print quality:-
Fears aroused by references to poor print/paper quality have proven largely unfounded, as far as I'm concerned. There is nothing wrong with the paper. Yes, if I look through a jeweller's eyepiece I can see fine "spotting" in and around the print, making it appear a little soft; but only at great magnification. To the naked eye (even with a regular magnifying glass) it is as clear and easy to read as any detailed text printed using the normal "four-colour half-tone process".

To the book itself:-
I can add little to previous praise for what is a stupendous achievement. The author has managed to combine full but clear details of current, historic and proposed layout, such as to give the reader great insight into the development of the railway in the greater London area.

Heartily recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
Having recently got the 2nd edition and impressed with that I thought I'd 'upgrade' and get the 3rd edition. Although it's just an updated version from the 2nd edition it good see the format and easy to understand style has not changed. Although many books talk about the London Railway network no book has gone to great lengths to plot and show extensively the track layout which is weaved into the world famous London city.

It becomes apparent quickly that the author and his team must have spent thousands of hours on research, designing and compiling this book as it has a wealth of information. From the track layout it goes deeper showing the platforms, sidings and also the more private areas such as the vast depots scattered around the Underground.

The book aims to deliver factual information and does so beautifully.

Raj Kukadia
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
I've been looking for maps showing all London's rail network for some time. This is just what I wanted. It shows all London's Underground and surface lines with landmarks (river, canal and road) to aid location. There is considerable historical detail and some detail on future developments. An excellent reference work.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
The author is to be highly congratulated on the enormous amount of detailed research poured into this volume. Considerable improvements since the previous edition include greater geographical coverage, greater detail and dates showing day and month.
Alas, the quality of printing is below standard compared with previous editions. The text and graphics is not as sharp as it should be and close inspection reveals a fine spray of red ink dots surrounding the data.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
suberb atlas with mush work gone into producding it. Well worth the money to anyone who has the remotist intrest in railways of London. All lines included with opening/closing dates with future projects included. I am a very satified S.HEWITT
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
I received my copy of the 3rd edition from amazon.co.uk, and it is a significant improvement to edition 2.

This all new geographically accurate edition contains a glossary of railway technology; there is a detailed explanation of map symbols used; the key to the maps covers 2 pages; extended coverage to GLA includes Slough, Tilbury, Gravesend, Orpington, Redhill, Shenfield, Windsor and Leatherhead; scales are included for every map page; detailed waterways are shown; geographic place names are given; more accurate indexing throughout; maps are larger than previous edition; printing is sharper and more clear; all colors are deeper and richer; London's railway linesare revealed completely as never seen before in one volume; sidings and depots have greater detail; 35 new stations have been added. The main map pages and inserts cover over 690 passenger stations on nearly 100 square miles of area; reference sources are given. Altogether better than edition 2.

Joe Brown has put his heart and soul into this book. It has been worth the wait to get my hands on this atlas. I recommend the London Railway Atlas 3rd edition to anyone reading this review.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
I bought this because I always wanted to know how all London's line linked up. Little did I know that both me and my two 5-year old sons would be absorbed in the minutiae for hours. Beautifully researched- well done. Only gripe- 4th edition please include narrow/miniature gauge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
This is the third edition of this publication that Joe Brown has written. I have worked on the railway for twenty six years and enjoy my job as well as the operational railway being a hobby. I have been lucky enough to own all three editions of the London Rail Atlas. I am even more lucky by the fact that Joe was very kind to sign them all. The work involved in producing something to this high standard would require many hours of research and patience to make sure that all of the facts, figures and diagrams were correct. This is something that I would expect somebody to do once they had retired from full time work. Joe works full time as a Train Operations Manager. This makes this publication even more impressive because all of it has been achieved in his spare time. This is a first class publication to anyone who is studying the railway history of London, as well as an invaluable asset for any rail enthusiast. Joe is to be congratulated on his ability to produce such a first class publication. It also shows his enthusiasm for the job that he currently performs.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)