Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
A different storyline for E.V.Thompson but never-the-less well researched and written. Holds the interest throughout but leaning a little too much to romance rather a little more adventure. Having said that I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Very,very good read . I can't say a word wrong about this author. Can't wait for the follow on .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
This was a very interesting book covering lots of issues and covering many different aspects of life in the US shortly after the Civil War.
Having recently travelled in the States I found it fascinating.
It was exciting with lots of action.There was romance and sadness.I was excited by it and hoped that it would have a happy ending but it did not end as I expected. The hero had lots of adventures in a variety of places in the US.
I found it an excellent read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
Another good story from E V Thompson this time based in America and not Cornwall.
Easy to read and difficult to put down.
Not as full with historical details as he gave in his earlier novels.
Overall an enjoyable read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
I think this is one of E V Thompsons best stories for a while. It weaves history in with some interesting characters and does not have a predictable end. A very interesting journey for a Cornish miner which I enjoyed as a good western. It showed excellent research on the US history and brought the frontier to life in a different and more human way. In or out of Cornwall E V Thompson is a master storyteller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Between the history of Engineering, particularly in the Cornish mining Industry, and the mining of Gold and diamonds in South Africa, This Romantic Thriller will have you living through Every Adventure with our Hero. Once again EV Thompson never misses with his knowledge of Cornish Engineering, and the People who it affected. And Book was second hand but in Great Condition, Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Like all his novels E V Thompson keeps going straight to the top. A brilliant novelist who will be sadly missed by his death. He is one of the very few writers who can get his readers to imagine they are actually taking part in a real life situation . Like all this other novels Thompson has brought reality to his story and his character's. A truly magnificent book like all his other sagas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
E V Thompson continues to write exciting detailed very readable stories. No less than the Journey keeps his link with Cornwall but takes readers away to USA and although I am not an expert on American history has given me an excellent account of life there whilst bringing all his characters to life.
A most enjoyable read for both male and females
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Not long started it. Read one other book by same writer and enjoyed it, which made me order this one. Reminds me of Neville Shute in his storytelling. For a used book it was like new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Interest and excitement all the time.A recommended read for everyone who likes a story to flow.well done,will find next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse