Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 24 March 2013
If you want a book that covers all aspects of river trout and grayling fishing then this is the book to read. It is a large topic but Peter Lapsley has the ability to explain thing s simply and in a easy to grasp manner. On the down side, the book is over ten years old, and fishing has moved on. There is no mention of Czech nymphing for example. Also, the book covers a lot of items, like casting, that the experienced angler may find a bit old hat. That said, if like me, you are changing from still water trout to river fishing, then this is the book to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
I have been a fly fisherman for 57 years now and have read many good books on the sport and this is one of the best. Peter Lapsley is a very experienced fly fisherman and writer and therefore this book is so easy to read. Because Peter is not only an experienced fly fisherman, but also a qualified casting instructor, the book contains so much useful information, instruction and advice even for the more experienced angler. Those new to fly fishing rivers will definately benefit from reading this book. Having only been first published in 2003 it is well up to date with modern techniques and tackle. I recommend you also buy Peter Lapsley's new book "Pocket guide to Matching the Hatch" which is excellent and a must for new and more experienced fly fishers.(this will be reviewed separately)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
I think this book is very worth while. Peter Lapsley gives technical description of river fly fishing. He also has a good literary turn of phrase when it comes to fly fishing and the general run of things. A little like Hugh Falkus. I will probably be re-reading it during each angling season in order to get the best from my time on the water.

It was purchased it at the same time as Terry Lawton's river fly fishing book. It is certainly the better of the two, being more of a reference book than "nice to look at but not much use".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2003
Peter Lapsley's book is clearly written and is an easy and very informatative read particularly for any newcomer to game angling. Peter takes the reader carefully through step by step and explains all the necessary information a game angler needs as he progresses along his career in game angling. As a long serving holder of APGAI (Advanced Proffessional Game Angling Instructor)and Vice Chairman of the Association of Advanced Professional Game Angling Instructors I will be recommending "River Fly-Fishing: The Complete Guide" to all our game angling instructors members as the perfect book for them to advise and recommend with confidance to their clients.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2003
This is a beautifully presented and accessibly written book by one of the country's foremost experts. It has something for everyone and the lovely photographs are a particular delight.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2003
A well laid out, well written and easy to dip into 'must have' for fly-fishermen. From details about the fish themselves to patterns and tatics, this book covers many things you need to know and the photographs are superb. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
Very easy and enjoyable to read. A real store of knowledge and experience. Contains some very useful chapters, such as "Of times and seasons", which I have not seen elsewhere. Keeps things nice and simple (such as a choice of flies and an introduction to entomology). Well illustrated. Recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
As a keen dry fly fisherman, I've accumulated many books on the subject over the years. Undoubtedly this is the best and most comprehensive book on the subject. Read this book thoroughly and you'll have all the answers to all the questions you're ever likely to ask.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2007
An excellent book, well written and beatifully illustrated. Pitched at all levels and useful to every standard, from beginner to expert. Having said that, it is also just a lovely book to have around the house.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2007
I cannot quite agree with the glowing 5 star reviews for this book. It's not bad, but it's often a bit superficial and tends to fall slightly between two stools in that it is neither basic enough for the beginner nor advanced/different enough to help the more experienced angler.

There are better books on the subject, I think, but YMMV.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)