Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 1999
I first came across this book in 1983 when I was a novice seeking out all all I could about Witchcraft with a hope to meeting witches and covens. In those days the Craft wasn't so open and neither was there the vast array of books on the subject there is now. I'd read Janet & Stewart Farrar's early books and Witchcraft for Tommorow was mentioned on the jacket of one of these. I opened it not expecting too much at the time but soon found myself quite spellbound by it. (Doreen is a respected Craft authority who was instrumental in its revival with Gerald Gardner)I did the self-initiation rite as described in the integral Book of Shadows and this was my introduction to Craft practice. In Witchcraft for Tommorow Doreen presents the "Old Religion" in a readable, exciting manner for both Craft beginners and other folk who simply wish to know more. Spells, rituals and craft history are included written an earthy style of "mirth and reverence" As a newbie, reading this book was a seminal experience which led to changes in consciousness.
Jonathan Jayne
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2004
This is probably one of the best books on witchcraft there is. Every serious practitioner should have this book on their shelves. Doreen Valiente is not only an excellent Author, she is the grandmother of modern witchcraft. She details the history of witchcraft and delves into over-looked subjects such as Old George Pickingill and his alledged nine covens, Aleister Crowley's supposed influence on the founding of Gardnerian witchcraft and compares practices with very similar eastern teachings. Throughout the book are informative chapters such as 'magical alphabets' and 'witches attire' along with illustrations and photographs. The second part of the book is a slightly simplified Gardnerian book of shadows designed not only for covens, but solitary witches aswell. Doreen's ABC of witchcraft is also a must.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2002
An excellent overview of Witchcraft - with hints and glimpses of other lesser known witchcraft traditions.
Highly recommended to those seeking more than modern americanised "Wicca" and insight into Witchcrafts real roots and history. Also gives tips to create and run your own covens and magical groups.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2009
I enjoyed this book immensely, it is clearly written by someone who was involved in many occult and pagan traditions - apart from the Wiccan - Gardenerian tradition the author is someonewhat traditionally associated with.

Highly recommended, it is a real gem in comparison to some of the more modern books on the Craft that have been written by certain trashy american publishers, and others which try to 'spin a mythos'.

This author 'was a Witch... if there ever was one'
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
Doreen Valiente brings the old craft into the New Age with this intense and fascinating study. Her passion for historical accuracy brings in such great figures as George Pickingill, Gerald Gardner, Dion Fortune and of course Crowley and the extent to which he may have influenced Gardner in composing certain Rites. These figures were true pioneers in the early days of British witchcraft and so there is an intimate feel to this wonderfully written, methodical handbook.
Valiente explores the origin of the craft and its practice today through eleven chapters giving insight into certain subjects such as the festivals (the Greater and Lesser Sabbats); the magic circle, tools and symbols right through to the working site. There is also a beautiful and frank chapter concerning witchcraft and sex magic which is truly enlightening.
Finally, the book ends with a Book of Shadows showing various Rites of Consecration and Invocation along with certain chants and dances etc. This is an invaluable book for anyone wishing to know more about the craft of the wise and a handy practical guide for beginners. Blessed be!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
If you are searching for a self enpowering sort of spirituality, try this as a 1st step. A fascinating read for anyone wanting an alternative path. Doreen Valiente was there at the rebirth, so to speak.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Every book the legend that was Doreen Valiente wrote, is not only extremely informative, impeccably researched, thoroughly interesting and the focus is always on the good, real and natural side of magic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
I very easy to read book, by a very knowledgeable author. Full of insight, a real treasure of a book. Something you can come back to time and time again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
This was a present for my daughter. I thought the book looked very good but I have not had any feedback from her. It was a good overview I believe of withcraft. Delivery was spot on from the company.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Very interesting reading, It is a every day read book with some tips and some good facts... good to have among your collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)