Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2001
A book of 11 short stories, ranging from 5 to 30 minutes reading time. All compelling reading, thought provoking. All reminders of cryptic crossword clues, double bluffs, mystery and intrigue. Not all the stories feature Morse. Morse's greatest mystery is the one story with the least criminal and detective content. The story subjects include fabricating evidence, theft, escape from prison, impersonation, infidelity and murder. A likable book, worth reading, recommended for holidays or train journeys. The first Colin Dexter I've read it reminded me of Ian McEwan but not so macabre.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
I was thrilled to discover some Morse stories that I hadn't previously come across. However, I was very disappointed. The short story format didn't suit Dexter's style at all, as he was unable to develop the story or use Morse's character effectively. The stories would have been okay if they hadn't been Morse stories and had used a different character. In one or two of the stories the point was either so obscure, or so insignificant I couldn't even see it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
This is a compilation of short stories - not all with the involvement of DCI Endeavour Morse. As expected with Colin Dexter, they are all clever, with a twist in the tail (tale?). As the stories are quite short - 25 pages or so - the book is good to dip into. Highly recommended for all Morse - and Dexter - fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
I have to say, this book was fabulous, a Morsey delight.
Colin Dexter was a genius writing these.

A melt in the moment experience with every story.
A must read for Morse fans and newbies alike.
Inspector Morse - Complete Boxset [DVD]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2007
If, like myself, you've read every Morse book, seen every episode on TV, and just need a final 'fix', you may enjoy this !! It's a collection of short stories (not all of which involve Morse) with different twists, some clever, some predictable and some plain ridiculous. It strikes me as a collection of plots which Colin could not develop into full blown stories but which were too good to simply dump.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Highly enjoyable stories which give another chance to immerse oneself in the brilliant mind of Oxford' s greatest mind. Great in every sense.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Reading the stories instead of watching them on the television is much better. You can go at your own pace.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Didn't enjoy this. Too many very short stories. Think advertising is misleading. Thought it would be a number of full length stories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
WHat a wonderful collection - I fouind more insight into the personality of Inspector Morse in these stories than in the full lenght novels (and I have read almost all of them). They even made the character created by John Thaw seem better. And the stories themselves were ingeneous!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
Half the short stories do not feature Morse. His 'Greatest Mystery' is dire but I won't ruin it for those who purchase the book by going into it. Some of the storylines and twists are quite clever but on the whole this really is a disappointment. Fine if you want to be able to dip in and out but Morse lovers may be disappointed with this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse