Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2017
Never ceases to disappoint. Have read and really read over the years. A gritty and earthy tale of northern working class people at the turn of the twentieth century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
A good classic historical romanced based in the north
a story of sadness poverty and love
a good classic read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
My favourite Catherine Cookson book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
A beautifully written story that allows the imagination to build the pictures in the mind without it being dictated to by over descriptive or unnecessary prose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
a very true life story of people who constantly battled with hunger and very large families without complaint from hard working women.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
This book, and film (which I highly recommend Sean Bean- dribbled all the way through.) This book is the first of catherine cookson's I've read and wow what a page turner. It is so thought provoking and your insides ache to think what it must have been like to be these characters. It has heart ache and yet something so spell binding, you want to hate some of the characters but you just can't because you really want to know their every move. It has to be said i was so sad to finish this book. The story is unforgetable, and yes tale and old as time. Town mouse and country mouse. but yet the way it's written and the twists and turns make it serious and relevant to the world we live in today. I think for readers who are looking for a book to question their thoughts of others, and simply love a story which has every emotion felt.

Thankyou for reading! :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Great story and so well told, from someone who lived there herself. As ever a great read as I found were all her earlier books. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
This is a great play and ideal for anyone performing this Catherine Cookson classic. The script is compact but still clear. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I just love her books cant stop reading over and over brilliant wrighter wonderful women fifteen streets just one of her lovely story's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
This package was excellent value.The delivery and packaging were very good . I would recommend seller and I will use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.18
£9.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here