Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2012
You won't put it down...the sort of saga they don't publish anymore because they think we don't read. A sympathetic character who is flawed and in period so not over politically correct but engaging. A plot that engages you too. A cast that seems real because they are not all perfect people but human.

And the history is not a lecture.

Sorry when it ended and so much richer than many of todays writers who would not dare do this anymore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
I have read this book before and really enjoyed it.I found that it was one to put on my 'reread' list. Shanghai is a very interesting book,spot on in its contemporary times,full of plots and subplots and also having a streak of romance that I like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Can't think why this book isn't better known. Like the characters and particularly the description of what Shanghai must have been like in the first half of last century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
This book has dominated my life for the past week. I have felt completely involved with the characters and it opened my eyes to life in China at this particularly time in history. Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Very readable and interesting book giving a colourful account of Shanghai in its early trading days and the life of an English ex-pat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Borrowed and read this book years ago and always wanted to own it and read it again. Now its on my kindle :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
Living in Hong Kong this book creates how I imagine Shanghai would have been in the 1900's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
AMAZING BOOK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
A super epic set against the grandeur of this international city. Elegant, sweeping, mezmerizing.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here