Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 August 2017
This book has revealed to me a much darker side to left/radical politics than I could ever have imagined, going back to the early post ww11 years, and earlier...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Very interesting account about the moral decline of Britain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Excellent analysis of how 'modern Britain' came about. Very incisive and a must read for anyone interested in modern politics and society
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Peter Hitchens presents a brilliant analysis of how and why, Britain went wrong. Considering this book was first published in 1999 with subsequent revisions up until 2008, Peter Hitchens was way ahead of his time. His book is almost prophetic in nature and much of his analysis has come to pass with relevance to modern Britain today.

The Abolition of Britain is very much lateral thinking, in the way Peter Hitchens presents his analysis, which shows the intelligence of the author. For instance, he addresses how the curriculum of History has been changed in British schools to circumvent the positives of British history and reinforce the negatives, by left wing educational think tanks.

The conclusion being that we now have a past and present generations of British youth, who hate and feel guilty about their own country, which in turn has led to a lack of ambition and a blinding acceptance of the multiculturalism agenda.

Basically, I would recommend this book to anybody who is interested in the political and social experiments that have been conducted in Britain and arguably the West as a whole. On a final point Peter Hitchens writes in such a way, that is clear and concise and does not lose the reader in jargon.

A very thought provoking read!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 1999
Peter Hitchens notes the "abolition" of his homeland with bitter grace; from the United States it takes on an even greater poignancy. His discussion of the Incredible Disintigrating Morality is true on both sides of the Atlantic. As well, the notion that Britain's occupation by America during the Second World War was a linchpin in its abolition -- hardly a new notion -- is presented here so well that it is hard for this American not to feel some measure of shame. While Mr Hitchens does a bit of finger-pointing at the members of the political class, his ire at the entertainment industry (particularly television) is timely and well-argued and, yet again, not restricted to the UK. The beauty of this book is that although it is all specific to Britain, most of the rot Hitchens sniffs out is well advanced everywhere else. The details differ: The trend is well outlined in this fine book. In particular I recommend it to my fellow non-Brits, especially as a jog to taking a look at their own nations which are being abolished in different but complimentary fashion.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 1999
After having read this book I was immediatly left with a feeling of dire despair, but on reflection a determination to be ,not just a part of the problem,but God willing,to be a part of the solution. Hitchens begins by painting a picture of Britain on the 31st Nov 1965,the day of Winston Churchills funeral and contrasting it with Britain on the day that Diana was buried in 1997.The changes are absolutly incredible,unbelievaby far reaching,mostly bad and only a few good.He then takes the reader on a retrospective journey to explore such areas as education,television and the media generally,the Church,general morality,and politics.Not only does he outline some of the changes but he also describes some of the pressuresand influences bought to bear which have bought our once great country down onto her knees.I found his conclusions pretty weak but overall I was absolutly entranced and would recommend it wholeheartedly.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2000
Poor Peter Hitchens. He must get irate about virtually aspect of modern British Society. Does nothing about today's world please him? Having corresponded with him a couple of times, I can confirm that he appears to have the sense of humour of a crocodile with a migraine. The Abolition Of Britain is a good book, and Hitchens argues strongly and passionately. Where he fails, however, is to propose a way forward from the current situation the UK finds itself in.
As another reviewer states, he seems to feel if everything reverted back to how it was in the 50s, it would all be okay.
That is not going to happen.
I have a particular problem with Hitchens' repeated use of the word 'deference.' Deference is all very well if you are the one being deferred to. A million British men deferred to the idiots who sent them over the top to their deaths in 1914-18.
Hitchens also laments the decline of Christianity in Britain. He argues passionately, but from the standpoint that his religion is 100% true. The fact remains that if anyone who is a Christian had been born and raised in Yemen, or Tibet, they would have been brought up and brainwashed (for want of a better word) into Islamic or Buddhist faiths.
Some excellent points are made, however, about the decline of standards in society, the acceptance of low moral standards, the way in which children are treated (ie parked in front of a television or computer screen and left to it) and the increasing power of socalled 'do-gooders' who make excuses for the bad behaviour of others.
I cannot agree, however, that all these points are mutually interdependant, and that all problems will be solved by voting Conservative, which is hinted at at the end of the book.
I would recommend reading this book, it is thought provoking and educational, but think for yourself. Having experienced the freedom brought by the breakdown of social barriers, would you want to live in 'Hitchensworld?'
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 1999
This book is a marvel to read. Peter Hitchens can rightly count himself as someone who truly understands the current politcal, social and moral climate of Britain.
Methodically and carefully, Hitchens takes us on a journey from the end of the second world war to the present day illustrating little known but highly influential shapers and thinkers who have been so intstrumental in the development of the modern day British mindset.
Furthermore, the growth of politcal correctness in a British context is charted with a sense of irony and contradiction which illustrates the erosion of the homogenous characteristics of British life.
Although Hitchens political views are made clear to the reader, it fails to detract from the insightful analysis given.
This book acts as a compass and helps make sense of the social and moral carnage in Britain today, with Hitchens offering strategies aimed at reversing current trends.
I unreservedly reccommend this book to all fellow British Citizens, as it provides a glaring look at at our country and having digested the contents it is hard to look at Britain in quite the same light again.
Perhaps Political Reviewers may term this book as: " One For The Silent Majority"
Simon McCrossan 23/08/99
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2001
The cover of Peter Hitchens' book shows the Union Jack, the flag of Great Britain, flown at half-mast. The image comes from the days after Princess Diana died and part of a nation mourned. Notably, however, another part of it did not. Hitchens takes this fact and runs with it, and he is not wrong to do so. He points out that, as part of Britain poured out its emotion in a tremendous fashion, another part looked on aghast at the nakedness of sentiment being displayed. I am a mere 20 years of age, but as a passionate Brit I do not find it hard to sympathise with the point he is making here.
Most of the time we look around and things seem okay. Occasionally we wonder whether things aren't just a little bit wrong. In the aftermath of Princess Diana's death, some of us felt like strangers in our own land. The author is right to state that people are asking now and may continue to ask in ever greater numbers: exactly what happened to the country they thought they grew up in?
Certainly, as some reviewers have pointed out, I would have to concede that Hitchens on occasion puts on rose-tinted spectacles when examining a British past often characterised by impoverishment and occasionally meaningless sacrifice. But he is no fool, and if he sometimes lapses into sentiment then we ought to forgive him if only for the many other highly relevant and prescient points he makes in this work.
First and foremost in his firing line is what essentially boils down to the new liberal orthodoxy. To any Americans who have read or might read this book, unless you are a passionate Democrat you might well recognise the point Hitchens is making here. In all its forms, be it in its control of state-run schools, its management of state healthcare, its changes to the justice system, and many others, the politicians who have sought to change things for the better have actually changed things for the worse. In Britain, state education has noticeably collapsed in the quality of its output since the left-wing destruction of selective schools in favour of comprehensives. The National Health Service in Britain has been a monument to folly almost since it started but has become so much the religion of Britain that not even right-wingers would think of challenging its inherent absurdity - that being the misguided that health is a right, and thus free healthcare ought to be a tax-supported provision. In the liberalisation of the justice system following the calamitous abolition of the death penalty, people with good intentions have plainly shown they are willing to sacrifice ever-increasing numbers of innocent lives to criminal whims for their high moral stances. Admirable though this idealism may be, it has caused inestimable downturns in levels of popular intelligence, hopeless health provision and ever-rising levels of crime.
The above is simply one of the arenas in which Hitchens chooses to launch an attack, but throughout on many separate topics his arguments are both coherent and potent. This is a remarkable book from a remarkable mind, and its points about the inherent dangers of the modern orthodoxy and its brutal refusal to accept points of view contrary to its own are exceedingly pertinent to Great Britain and the British people. Britain is a country whose culture has been effectively torn asunder, but not under the arm of foreign invaders or occupiers but paradoxically and almost incomprehensibly by its own natives. It's a terrible shame, and it is good that we have people such as Peter Hitchens to give voice to an opposition that has been effectively silent until now.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2000
Hitchen's chronicle of Britain's decay is written with solid reasoning and it would be very hard for anyone to argue with his views unless they were the most left-liberal of people. He tackles all the areas of life which he believes are at the heart of the rampant decay of this once triumphant, proud country. For anyone who is proud of Britain it is a very sad read of how progressiveness has ruined our land. He continually refers to the changing attitudes amongst the yougsters of today and, as a 16 year old, I can confirm the decrease of morality and respect amongst the younger generation with their permissive attitude concerning sex, homosexuality, etc, and I shiver to think that this forward thinking generation will becomne the politicians and lawyers of the future. The book will either leave you joyful if you are one of the prime instigators of this decay, or, like me, you may be left cold and shivering but with a promise to halt the rot and reverse the seemingly uncontrollable change and save what is left of our traditional Britain for the British of the future. It is an excellent book which should become compulsory reading for teenagers to convince this modern care-free generation that 'old'/'traditional' are not bad words and we must look back to history to solve our current problems and slow the spiral of change.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)