Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
73
4.4 out of 5 stars
Grace: A Memoir
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 April 2013
I, like most, became a grace fan after watching 'the September Issue'. I sat down to read this book on a quiet sunday afternoon and gobbled it up in one sitting. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about grace's earlier life as a model in the swinging 60s and her development into the amazing creative she is today. This is not life changing stuff, its a memoir of a life led in the fashion industry and thoroughly enjoyable it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Bought as a gift for my daughter who works in the fashion industry and she has thoroughly enjoyed this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
No doubt like a lot of readers I came to this book after watching The September Issue, the engrossing documentary about American Vogue from which Coddington emerged as the warm heart of the operation.

I assumed this book would be chock full of interesting stories about fashion legends across several decades, after all Coddington has met a whole parade of interesting people during a radically creative period. I was half right. You get the parade of people, sometimes seemingly interminable lists of names (many of whom are never mentioned again) but sadly you don't get much of interest to go along with it.

Let's face it, a high percentage of people will have read this book hoping to pick up some interesting inside info on Anna Wintour, and will have noted when they first picked up the book that there is a whole chapter entitled "On Anna". Well, despite knowing each other for a long, long time and working with each other for many, many years, you don't really get anything that a perceptive viewer couldn't have picked up from The September Issue.

The book is further hampered by the chronology. It rarely mentions what year it is so you have very little idea of where you are within the main arc of the memoir.

The book's main failing, however, is the style (quite ironic when you consider that the author's whole life has been about style). It feels like it is the diary of an over-reaching teenager. Time and time again she tells us that she isn't much of a reader and this is starkly apparent. To be even a half-way decent writer you've got to be a reader, if she was she would have realised that you need to do a lot more than name-drop to make an engaging narrative.

All in all, this book is a real missed opportunity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
A fantastic first hand account of the developing fashion world. Graces life has been full of amazing experiences, places and people. although Coffee book size, this book did not leave my bag!! A good read for anyone in the industry or thinking of Joining it. Fantastic read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This book was really disappointing. Grace's life is so interesting but all of the detail is skimmed over at the expense of name dropping. The book is essentially a role call of photographers, models and celebrities that Grace has met. No substance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
It's easy to like Grace Coddington's no nonsense writing and style. For someone like me, who have been in the fashion business, both as a stylist and writer during the 70's and up to the early 90's this book is certainly a good treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Bought this book as a beach read for my wife- and she took it half way around the world to read on holiday, despite it being a brick. I haven't read it but she loved it, and that's good enough for me. End of review thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Brilliant, well worth the price and a great book to read on my Nexus. Lots of interesting stories about the fashion industry and about Grace's journey from school girl to internaitonal fashion icon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
If you liked the September Issue, like fashion, this book is a must!
Very interesting & highly recommended.
Gives an amazing insight into the fascinating world of fashion. & Vogue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Love the pictures, love the way it's written, love the little sketches, love Grace! An interesting life which takes you around many great personalities, but most of all around Grace!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse