Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Food
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
50
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2015
Expected better from an 'acclaimed' photographer and daughter of a legendary vegetarian. Totally uninspiring both visually and content, I could have done better but unfortunately I don't have daddy's money to help me through life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
This book is more about the pictures ('food porn', if you wish) than it is about the recipes, but I genuinely don't mind.

I don't normally buy cook books without pictures, and this book takes food photography a step further. It's not about expensive styling - just about a love of food. (Which happens to be vegetarian.)

I've tested a few of the recipes, and they work well, though are not necessarily the most innovative - especially not if you're a seasoned vegetarian.

Instead, consider it a photography book (or coffee table book) about food, and just enjoy it for what it is! I keep it in a prime kitchen location, and if I ever feel uninspired to cook, I just grab for this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
As i am not a vegetarian myself i found this book inspiring and educational of how to eat vegetarian meals in an exciting way for everyone.
My absolute favourite has to be the spicy yummy rice noodles (which i like to add a lot of extra chilli for a fiery kick) and the lemon drizzle cake.
All recipes are really easy to follow and i found the main dishes are a great choice to make for a quick evening meal.
I would recommend this book to everyone, a brilliant read!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
I bought this book looking for tasty and easy to follow vegetarian recipes and was not disappointed. My husband has eaten everything I've made from it so far which is a good indicator of how good it is as he is not vegetarian but has really enjoyed the dishes from the book. The photos are stunning and I've already decided to give another copy as a birthday present to a neighbour.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Mary McCartney's new cookery book 'Food" is a new treasure in my kitchen. I have already tried a few of the recipes. and friends and family all agree that they are original and delicious, so i am looking forward to trying more, very soon. Not only is the book an excellent source of good recipes, unlike many cook books it has a heartwarming text Mary has written with reference to her family. And the accompanying photographs enhance the enjoyment of this lovely book.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This book must be aimed at people who do no cooking whatsoever - the recipes are beyond basic and generic, nothing particularly interesting ... basically - a waste of space and a typical dust-gatherer .... no good for a present (is you like the recipient) and no good to keep home - so totally pointless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Here is a colourful book that sets out to provide a range of "home cooking" recipes for vegetarians as well as, perhaps providing a bit of an introduction to meat-free eating for those who still have rather outdated views towards vegetarianism.

In case you think the name might be familiar, you are right - Mary McCartney grew up with vegetarian cooking, worked with her mother on her range of vegetarian cookbooks and has been a consultant on the brand for Linda McCartney Foods for over a decade. After a brief introduction the reader is presented with various "cooking notes" that provide a few hints and tips that might be of most use to the "vegetarian virgin" and then it is straight on to the recipes.

But fear not. This is a book for cooking, not campaigning.

The recipes themselves are split into a few chapters for breakfast & brunch; snacks & sandwiches; soups, salads & starters; mains; basics & sides and desserts and baking. Everything is surrounded by a wide range of inspirational, scene-setting photographs and the design is relatively clean, fresh and accessible. It is particularly good to see quality food photography as this can help sway over the more sceptical, reluctant reader to try vegetarian food and see that it is not just mushed up vegetables and boring soups (!).

There is a good, broad range of different dishes and, of course, at times "meat substitutes" come into play such as the Shepherd's Pie. A book like this could be particularly of use where one or more people in the family follow a vegetarian diet and yet other family members can still eat relatively familiar dishes together without needing to make two versions! Vegetarian mince is never going to be meat mince, but nonetheless... Some of the recipes look as if they have cut back on the seasoning but it is easier to add a bit more to suit an individual's taste rather than take it away afterwards.

An index at the rear is fairly comprehensive and it lets you search by recipe and by key ingredient type. And that's about it. One common complaint about vegetarian books is (by vegetarians) that the range of dishes can often be limited or that the ingredients are not always an appreciated substitution. If that sort of thing is really important to you, check this book out before purchase. But as a general introduction, particularly to a non vegetarian, this did seem to provide a great amount of possibilities and a broad encouragement to try something vegetarian from time to time. It won't necessarily convert this reviewer and neither is that the goal, but if it even helps sway opinion a smidgeon...?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
As a long standing veggie it's always good to get some everyday inspiration to get you out of a rut. This is what I was hoping for from Food. It does give inspiration but falls very very short on taste. I should have known better when the first recipe I cooked contained only 1 tsp of soya sauce for seasoning/flavour!

If your everyday repertoire has gone a bit stale, and particularly if you want some inspiration re soya products then it is ok maybe borrow it from the library/a friend rather than buy it. If you're new to vegetarian cooking then I would recommend turning to something like River Cottage Veg Everyday instead.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
Had a free copy of a few of the recipes from this book in the vegetarian magazine, made most of them and so impressed bought the book. With great excitment I went through it and found nothing else apart ffrom the wonderful ones from the free mini copy and wished I hadn't bothered. However if you haven't got the free one there are 2 good recipes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Bought this for my daughter-in-law who wanted some new veggie ideas for the family.
The photos are excellent, but from a quick review before handing it over, the recipes seem to be quite basic.
Still it was much appreciated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)