Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
Leanda de Lisle's great strength is in providing context. It's too easy, for example, to dismiss Mary I as embittered, sour and cruel for cruel's sake - thoroughly deserving her prefix "Bloody" Mary. The truth is to understand the times,the constant danger of being usurped,the fragility of the succession (for all the Tudors)and the religious settlement each wanted to pass on. This Ms de Lisle does superbly.

I have to say her book isn't a bedtime "dip in, dip out" read. Rather, it is for concentrated reading in a Library (say) or for a weekend with the phone off the hook. There are too many women called Margaret or Mary and constant referral to a family tree is an absolute necessity. So not a book to read on a Kindle!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Extremely well written, lively and well paced. I thought the Tudors had been done to death but Ms de Lisle manages to provide an interesting and new perspective on much of the content.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
This historically sensitive account of the complex struggle for the acquisition and maintenance of power in this violent period is a very good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Only about a quarter of the way through but thoroughly enjoying it. Reads like a novel! Very helpful to have the family trees at the front.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
An interesting look at aspects of the Tudors dynasty. Well researched and written - informative and interesting. Will recommend to others
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
A pacey, meaty read. DeLisle moves seamlessly through the generations, sparing no detail, pulling together all the threads of the Tudor line. An incredible story, brilliantly told.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Great for Tudor enthusiasts.... Lots of information and a great family tree to refer to...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
Want highly readable and fascinating history of ALL the Tudors ? Here it is. Splendid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
This book is an excellent read.gripping from first to last page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
It was quite interesting to actually read a book about The Tudors that focused solely on the family ties rather than the different reigns of the dynasty. Very well written book, just the right length to keep the reader interested and was clearly researched thoroughly by the author.

Was very interested to read about some of the lesser known Tudors such as Margaret Douglas and Arbella Stuart. The book was very nicely bookended also as it started with Owen Tudor and ended with a sentence referencing him. Just like the Tudors dynasty itself.

I would recommend this book to others.I hardly wanted to put it down. Every time I got off the train i cursed my bad luck that I had to wait until the next train ride to read some more!!!

Infact I have recommended it to both my sister and a number of people at work.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)