Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2000
In his preface Wilfred Owen hopes that the spirit of his work may survive after the names and places of the Great War are forgotten. When one reads his haunting poems on the horrors and reality of World War One, horrors which those back in England often were not fully aware of until Owen contributed to their exposure, one must feel that the spirit of them is very much still alive. Amidst the carnage death must have become commonplace, but Owen still managed to imbue all of his accounts with a suitably elegaic tone that makes this collection one of the saddest and, at the same time most life-affirming books which I have read in a long time. I would commend it as essential to anyone with an interest in World War One, or simply in the precious and fragile nature of life.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The collected poems of WIlfred Owen. Owen will always be remembered for his war poems, which form the backbone of this volume. They are all here, along with a few pre war efforts such as Written in a Wood and Lines Written on My Nineteeth Birthday. But it is the war poems that he is remembered for. Works such as Anthem for a Doomed Youth and Parable of the Old Man and the Young speaking powefully of the various losses associated with the first world war, both the loss of life and the loss of innocence. Jon Stallworthy has provided a usefull introduction and handy notes for the poems. These are powerful poems and this volume does them justice.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Wilfred Owen is a great poet and the paperback edition of this book was good. The kindle edition suffers from the poor editing / proofreading of many kindle books - the first time I looked at the kindle book I found a whole line omitted from 'Dulce et Decorum Est'. Poems need to be read in their complete form - leaving out a line in a book like this is just shoddy, lazy publishing. Come on kindle publishers! When will you start proofreading your books properly before making them available for sale. I'd like to ask for my money back on this one - don't buy the kindle version, it's very poor quality.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2003
Wilford Owen was a poet of vast immense talent, a talent that really came to the fore during his experiences on the western front. Whilst he is by no means ignored, his work sadly tends to be underrated due to his continual placing besides Siegfried Sassoon. Although Sassoon was undoubtedly a great poet, he doesn't quite compare to Owen's ability to affect the reader at the deepest and most profound levels.
'Dulce et decorum est' is quite simply the greatest poem ever written in the English language and it is nigh on impossible not to be moved to tears upon first reading. 'No greater love' is incredibly harrowing with its description of a soldier torn apart by enemy fire yet manages to convey a sense of poetic beauty in said soldiers sacrifice that avoids any triteness. 'The parable of the old man and the young' uses a simple biblical allegory to devestating affect and is yet again a perfect example of Owen's talent to affect the reader on such a deep level.
Remarkable too is that his poetry is extremely accessable yet in being so loses none of its ability to say so much. He can not be recommended highly enough
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Wilfred Owen is the poet to choose if you want to capture the feeling and impressions of life for an officer who is close to the front line in France and Belgium during the First Workd War, and who returned from convalescence to the Western Front. More poignant still, he died in action as the war dwindled to its end.
His poetry has sympathy for all involved in the action, showing feelings of fear, futility and empathy with the enemy who suffered the same privations. Read this book, and appreciate a poet of true ability who conveys meaning so clearly and effectively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
This is probably the best available edition of the poems for the interested reader. It tracks Owen's development up to his meeting with Sassoon and clearly demonstrates how this meeting and the experience of the trenches reshaped his juvenile poetic origins into a means of ironic reflection on the implications of War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I was looking through a friends bookshelf and came across this book.I'd heard of Wlifred Owen but hadn't read his work.
The poems are about life as a soldier in the first world war and very moving. He died as a young man and left these wonderful poems for us all to read that we may understand what it was like for young soldiers back then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Would recommend this book to Students and/or anyone with a love or fondness for poetry, Very Moving, knowing that W.O. left this earth far too early adds to the sentiment, .............. I also like the short biography at the beginning and the explanation of origin of the poems and where they were written. Good Value !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Another great poet of the time and a poet I have always wanted to read. He was one of a group. who tried to impart to others what madness there was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I am doing an Open University course and became interested in Wilfred Owen's poems.This is a comprehensive book of his poems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.