Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
51
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2000
Stella who is 18 months and I (mum) who is 36 years both love Goodnight Gorilla. The illustrations are fabulous using a wonderful palette of vivid colours. There is very little printed dialogue so the story is slightly different each time it is read or looked at, making this a very adaptable story. You can make it as simple as you want to or bring in more of the visual elements for a more elaborate story.
The zookeeper thinks he has put all the animals to bed and wished them goodnight but the cheeky hero of the title has other ideas and his eye on an altogether cosier place for them all to spend the night!
An enchanting book, even for someone like myself who is not altogether comfortable with the concept of zoos.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2005
This is an excellent first bedtime story book.
It is very well illustrated book. It follows the story of the zoo keeper checking on all the animals as he goes to bed, but they all escape, follow him home and try to get into bed with him and his wife who then returns them all to their cages.
There is only minimal text but it is still great fun to read and allows the space for parents to digress in many different ways.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2003
One of the few children's books which share that wonderful quality of being as delightful for the parents to read as for the child to enjoy. Its minimal text must help early reading skills, and there's plenty of opportunity for adding gestures to highlight the more dramatic bits of the story. It's my 15 month-old son's absolute favourite, and he simply never tires of it. There are simply too many good points to list in a review-buy it for your pre-schooler. (No, I am not the author!)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2006
There are very few words in this book but don't let that put you off. With very little effort 'reading' this book at night to a little one turns into a wonderful personalised adventure for you and them! Brilliant illustrations, a must have for any baby/toddler and also excellent for multilingual families.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
This is perhaps the most delightful baby book in our collection! Everbody in the family loves it, from the toddler to his older siblings to the parents and occasional visitors. It is gentle, fun, with excellent pictures and a positive message.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I bought this for part of a new baby present. I bought a different copy of this book (also from Amazon) for my baby 4-5 months ago, which was printed by Puffin books in the USA. I had no idea there would be such a difference in the print of the book. This version, which is printed by Egmont Press (printed & bound in Singapore) is simply awful. The Puffin version has a white border around each page, and the colours are bright but very pleasant. This version looks like they scanned in another copy of the book, slightly enlarged it and also got the colours well and truly wrong. It's hideous. I would normally return it, but I need the present tomorrow so am hoping the new mum finds it ok.
Don't get me wrong, I recommend the book - just don't buy this printed version. Look for the Puffin one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2003
I really love this book. I picked it up by chance in a bookshop in New York, having never seen it here, and was totally charmed by it. It's simple and funny, with big colourful pictures, following the gorilla through the zoo as he opens all the cages, and follows the zookeeper home to bed. The gorilla's expression when the zookeeper's wife turns on the light and catches him is hilarious. I would recommend this sweet and original book to anyone with young children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2004
If you look at the title "Good Night, Gorilla" and immediately think of the classic "Good Night, Moon," you are not alone. But whereas the latter is about a little rabbit who is putting off going to sleep by saying "Good Night" to everything in the room, this little treat written and illustrated by Peggy Rathmann is about a zookeeper who WANTS to go to sleep and is saying "Good Night" to all of the animals in the zoo. What the weary zookeeper does not know, is that the gorilla has grabbed his keys and there is a growing menagerie following him home to his wife.
"Good Night, Gorilla," is simply a charming little tale, where the drawings communicate much more than the dialogue. I want to think of the art as being a cross between watercolors and pastels, but then what do I know about art? What I love best is to find the mouse with the banana on the string in each picture, and I bet your children will love that too when they discover it on their own.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 1999
During a short trip to the States earlier this month we picked this book up in a supermarket along with a couple of others. They instantly fell in love with it, and is a regular request every night. We left the book on the aircraft on the way back to the UK, and we are purchasing a replacement copy by popular demand!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2005
i was somewhat disappointed with this book. i wanted a nice goodnight story for my 2 year old son and judging by the title and other reviews i thought this book would be perfect. the idea of going around the zoo to say goodnight to the animals is sweet, what i didn't realise was that half of the pages in this book just has pictures and the only text consists of saying goodnight. i just expected a little bit more. probably better for the younger child.
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse