Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2014
Typical de Paola style of illustrations, this tells more in pictures than words, the story of a knight and a dragon who have never fought each other - so they both read books to prepare and practice and then the day arrives, but they both fail, so a princess intercedes, gives them both another book and they end up in business together - the dragon barbecuing the meat the the knight serving. A fun twist on a traditional tale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Nice book although I thought the story was about St. George and the dragon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 13 November 2015
This isn't a read-to, but is sort of a read-with, and actually is a look-at-it-and-make-it-up-as-you-go-along.

The author helps us get started by establishing a knight who has never fought a dragon and a dragon who has never fought a knight. He tells us that they plan to have a joust, and sends them both to the library to read up on knight-dragon fighting. From there on, for the remaining 24 pages, apart from a few "meanwhiles" we have to supply all of the words and figure out and decide what's happening. And that works great.

There are a number of books coming out recently that consist of illustrations that are open to interpretation, on pages that are formatted for a kid to actually write in his own story. This book doesn't go that far. But, there's lots of room to create different versions of the story every time you go through this book, and it presents a wonderful opportunity for a creative reading and imagining session. There are lots of little jokes and bits around the edges of the illustrations, so you could also have fun just pointing out those to each other.

You know, after a long day I don't know if I'd pick this as the bed-time book. But, if your little reader is in the mood and if you're in the mood, and if there's just a bit of silliness in the air, this book could be a lot of fun.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
This is a really lovely little story - in comic strip style, so you can make the words up as you go along. The illustrations are great - & its my 5 year old son's favourite story of the moment
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
My children liked this story. Good illustrations and nice story with a strong message. My son took it to school on world book day and dressed up as a dragon. The reason I have scored it 4/5 is that the wording is a bit hard for little ones to read on their own. Half of the book is pictures only, and it's short, so I would have expected the text to have also been in words that can be read by young children. All in all a great book though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 1999
I found this book as an insert in a book on how to compete effectively in business. It offers, in an easy to follow and very enjoyable way, some original thinking on how to turn traditional competition into cooperative endeavors. A must for parents who want to teach children ways to consider alternatives to fighting. The drawings are also charming.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Great little book, I got it with a Knight costume for my Nephew and he loves it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Oh so cute illustrations and a moral to boot. I used it for guided reading to show the children how to infer and deduce meaning from very little text. There is also opportunity for a lot of discussion about expectations and stereotypes. We also designed alternative endings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Love this, it's provides lots of chance to talk and make up bits yourself. Also it's good for pre-reading children as they can tell the story from the pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
With few words and lovely pictures, this is an ideal gift for a three yr. old. Lets you make the story up to fit the picture, not many of these books about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse