Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more


VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 May 2017
I bought this book as a present for my husband who is a keen photographer with a special interest in photographing wildlife. He joined the Butterfly Conservation group (includes moths) so that he could identify the butterflies and moths that he photographed. This book was actually recommended by Butterfly Conservation so I felt that it was the best book to buy for him. Obviously he wanted a book which he could take out with him so it had to be something quite robust. This is a good size for packing in a rucksack and it has a moisture proof cover which helps to protect it. The photographs are excellent quality and the descriptions clear and concise. This obviously helps with identification. Altogether this book was a good buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2014
An excellent guide, beautifully illustrated with "truly" high quality photographs that make identification, even for me, very straightforward. Identification is also greatly aided by the introductory key and notes on distinguishing features, habitat, food plants and locations.
Unlike many guides, it really is comprehensive as it includes the micro moths as well as the more commonly covered macro members etc., of the species.
I have three of the Wild Guides, this one and the guides to Dragonflies and Hoverflies, all conforming to the same very high standard. All to be highly recommended, a pleasure to browse and quite simply, outstanding value!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
A very detailed book on a number of day flying moths about 100. There are active fliers passive fliers and disturbed fliers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2017
Seems very comprehensive and has already proved useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
A well photographed, presented and informative guide that furthers the study of moths by concentrating on those that are regularly spotted flying during the day. This narrows the list of likely suspects and helps both novice and more learned spotters in their quest for ID. Handy maps, flight season guide, foodplants, suitable habitats,and conservation status provided along with further reading and website lists. A useful addition to the lepidopterists library!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2014
For once I chose the Kindle version and do not regret it. All the general details are now available to me and the photographs enlarge to check on the detail. For me as a relative beginner this book is excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2016
Excellent. Wide variety of moths, well illustrated and easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
These books are very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
Bought this book because of my love for moth trapping, it's great for identifying day flying moths loads of background info on species and habitats
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2016
Good images and a lot of very helpful guidance. A good, tough binding, and it's pocket-sized! Extremely good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)