Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2014
I didnt enjoy this book very much,she is a good writer but I prefer the more modern ghost stories these days,however they are readable but I wouldnt want to re-read them,I bought this one as a friend recommended her to me,.............
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
There is a story about vampirism which is great, some other good ones too. a couple of clunkers.
Her style is wonderful and elegant. if your a fan of short horror fiction you must read this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Edith Wharton's ghost stories are most unusual. They leave the reader suspended in a state of puzzlement and unease. Atmospheric, but, for me anyway, not quite ghostly enough. Definitely worth reading!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
I'm an Edith Wharton fan and also a fan of ghost stories these didn't disappoint though they don't have the impact of her novels. For my money she's underrated, and more accessible than her more famous friend, Henry James.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
it's nice to read other of Mrs Wharton's work besides the much-reprinted "Afterward" and "The Lady's Maid's Bell". Even if the other stories aren't so gripping, they are well-plotted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
A collection of formidably well written and unusual ghost stories. They are not of the MR James frightening type, but subtle and intriguing. Deserve to be better known.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Beautiful writing, wonderful period setting. My only quibble is that Wharton (unlike, say, M.R. James) leaves a little too much unexplained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Beautifully written of course, but many of the stories were rather inconclusive and I much prefer her novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Some of the stories are really good but most are not very spooky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
Unusual and very thought provoking. Unlike othrr ghost stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse