Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 April 2017
All I can say is, "WOW - What a book". If, like me, you always wanted to read Thucydides' "The Peloponnesian War" but just couldn't quite get to grips with it, then this is the version you need. As well as the text, the author has had the presence of mind to include sidebar notes, maps and footnotes to explain the history of the time, which is very useful to the layman. I like it so much that I'm going to order the books in this series. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
As a student at uni currently studying ancient history, I found this translation of Thucydides' History of the Peloponnesian War to be incredibly helpful in understanding the chronology and the characters of the Peloponnesian War, and hugely useful for revision, what with the summaries, maps, references, index, and editing. Just sad there couldn't be more landmark histories for everything I'm studying!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
Utterly brilliant. The best edition I have ever come across. Why? It has maps showing the locations mentioned as you read; excellent footnotes and very helpful introduction. The text is an important one and reading the text with the maps alone make it worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
I purchased the Kindle version of this book but unfortunately it does not work well on Kindle. There are a number of errors in the text, presumably resulting from the transfer process. More seriously, much of the added-value referred to in the introduction - such as detailed annotations and cross-references - does not work on the Kindle. For example, the text is full of references to notes, but the notes are all bundled together at the end of each chapter without numbers and no way of relating them to the text. I am a big fan of Kindle but I am very disappointed with this purchase. I bought this book because I find the small print of many books easier to read on Kindle, but I shall stick to fiction in future.
22 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 1999
For those seeking to understand the nature of war and human behavior in war, this is the book to read. The story of greed and ambition - and the adverse effects it can have on policy - threads its way through the book. Thucydides' remark, "I have written this work, not as an essay which is to win applause of the moment, but as a possession for all time" is a very appropriate statement. The eternity of Thucydides' work is evident in the similarities of policy and war today as compared to the author's world. The numerous maps and footnoting within this book, makes it much easier to comprehend than other accounts of the Peloponnesian War.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
According to strategist Colin Gray: "If Thucydides, Sun-Tzu, and Clausewitz did not say it, it probably is not worth saying." (Colin Gray, Fighting Talk: Maxim 14) Although that might be a bit of an overstatement, it is undoubtedly true that "The Peloponnesian War" is a real masterpiece. In it, Thucydides describes the war between Athena and archrival Sparta (433-405 BC) between 433 and 411 BC, where the book abruptly stops. The rest of the book being either lost or never written, although the writer surely did survive the war and - probably - died in the mid-390s.

In "The Landmark Thucydides", (editor) Robert Strassler has done everybody a huge favor, in making this book as accessible as possible. The book is heavily annotated, littered with maps and completed with annexes on subjects such as Land Warfare, Trireme Warfare, Spartan Institutions, Greek Currency and Religious Festivals.

The Peloponnesian War is not always easy to read, littered as it is with names of places, tribes, cities and coalitions, but some of the longer stories of the war a particularly rewarding (like the fatal Athenian expedition to Sicily). Also the 'Melian Dialogue' ("... the strong do what they can, and the weak suffer what they must.") is considered the classical example of die-hard Realpolitik.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 1999
It is hard to imagine, no, I cannot imagine, a clearer, more lucid setting out of a great classic work. Strassler's abundant maps, well-thought-out appendices and helpful footnotes clear the path for the reader through an absolutely gripping, but not always transparent, work.
First credit must go, of course, to Thucydides for his monumental effort, his mastery of an enormously complex chronicle of events and his profound insights into the personalities and the political interests which impelled the events of the war. But Strassler has provided the means for any interested amateur reader of history to enjoy fully and at first reading this marvelous epic. This is perhaps the best presentation of a classic work I have ever encountered. Well done!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 1999
This is the best way for the non-scholar to approach Thucydides. This volume has it's own built in atlas! Every town,village or city mentioned is indexed with one of the books maps! There's almost a map on every other page. Every reference in the text is explained. The only problem is that all you get is Thucydides. If you want a modern history of this war, get Donald Kagan's history of the Peloponnesian war. It's an excellent history and makes a nice set with The Landmark Thucydides.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Thucydides original and direct translation is excellent but challenging. Robert B Strassler however has distilled and presented this wonderful 2500 year old material in a highly accessible approach. The almost 3 decades long savage and brutal conflict from 431 to 404 BCE, between the two superpowers of the time, Athens and Sparta, seems to be more relevant than ever. Curiously enough, if one was to remove the weapons/arms technology from the context, the rest confirms that the traits of human behaviour remain almost unchanged. Politics, policies, diplomacy, strategies, tactics, peace treaties, logistics, rhetoric, revenge, retribution, intelligence, etc., are all in this magnificent history.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
This book does everything possible to let the reader keep track of the narrative without getting lost in all the details. The combination of cross references and maps means that you can instantly and easily dip into and out of the book, which is quite a feat given Thucydides' style.

The book itself is one of the greatest treasures of mankind. It is a book on the human condition and on human nature, and is truly a "book for all times". It's as relevant now as it was 2500 years ago. I guarantee that it will change your thinking on the world we live in, on human society, on government and on politics. It's the ultimate cure for those with revolutionary zeal.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)