Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 July 1999
I bought this book shortly after discovering I had Attention Deficit. When reading this book it was as if someone had followed me throughout my life and wrote down my experiences and feelings. It really helped validate my ADD and my feelings associated with it. It also pointed out the many positives of being ADD and also the work needed to put the necessary structure in place. I recommend this highly for women struggling with their new diagnosis.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 1999
While this book does have moments, for the most part, it seems that it is sending the wrong message about ADD. It makes ADD seem to be something bad, something which needs to be cured by the use of drugs like Ritalin. ADD research has come a long way since this book was written, and ADD is now seen more as a blessing in disguise. It is different way of thinking and interpreting the world. It isn't something that needs to be cured. There are far better books on the subject, such as ADD: A Different Perspective by Thom Hartmann. This book, on the other hand, could actually have dangerous results for people who read it. It may have an answer, but it may not be the right one.
22 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
I just want to tell you that I'm really enjoying this book. It's very easy to read, and I get a lot smarter on what's going on in my head :)
I've just bought 2 copies for my closest ADD-friends, to share the wisdom..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
I'm impressed with this book. It's written in a direct and humourous style and is very comprehensive indiscussing the areas of life that ADD can impact on. It's message is positive and helpful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
Our daughter has just been given this diagnosis and this book was highly recommended as a first read in this area. It has some very interesting and helpful information and suggestions to be explored. Helpful for all the family to advise us all about the best ways to support someone with ADD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
I looked at the reviews and thought this would be a good buy.
I believed that this book would cover the real truth about ADHD (warts and all).
However, I was disappointed to find that it covers all the same areas as all the other books.
If you have very little prior knowledge of the condition then you will find this book helpful but if you have already read most of the available information on the internet/books etc then you may have got the stage where I am where you want to know the real truths or at least get confirmation from others that the unmentioned sides of ADHD are not just restricted to you!!
If there are any authors out there who believe that their book covers the above mentioned unmentioned areas!! please feel free to give me the title and I will be happy to read it.
For those of you who may be like me, chin up, you are not alone xxx
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
My dear wife having been diagnosed with Adult ADD had struggled for many years about how to interpret, explain, and overcome her sometimes odd behavior. After reading this book, she feels a lot more in control of what is going on and how to interpret it, and how to react to it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
The state I got this book was terrible, most of the pages were folded and still glue together. I need to use the scissors to separate them and cut some pages to the original size of the book, because some of them were bigger thane the rest of the book. I'm not sure I want to even read it as some I need it to torn. OMG that supposed be new, maybe it is , but what's happened to it?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2007
Prior to reading this book, I had read' ADD, the unfocused mind in Children and Adults by Thomas E. Brown which is a fascinating and thorough text on the subject. It is such a good book that the Library are chasing me to give it back!

This book though is a complete waste of time. Well I concede that the Authors are well meaning, this book has absolutely nothing to offer. I have found the book very hard to read as it does not really capture your attention at all (which is bad for someone with ADD!) It has no real structure and is just a load of rambling.

I may be a bit harsh as I am comparing it to the aforementioned book with was excellent.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
This was the first book I read on ADD and during the first 10 or 15 pages or so I thought it was amazing. It truly did make it clear that I was neither lazy, stupid or crazy. The problem is it spends the first 5 or 6 chapters basically saying "You're not alone, there are others like you" and not much else. OK because of my ADD I get bored easily but honestly it became very boring saying the same things over and over again. They could have delivered the "you're not the only one with ADD so don't worry" message over and done with in the first or second chapter. The rest of the book doesn't fare much better either.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)