Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2011
For newcomers to Google Sketch Up and for those who don't profess to know it all, this is a perfect desktop companion.Sure the web is full of sites about the tools on Sketch Up but nothing still beats a good concise hard copy of the basic tools and their uses.
It is a pity about the misleading title which may put many people off buying.The book in fact consists of 10 chapters each with around 10/12 sections of 10 minute lessons. This is not a quick 10 minute fix for Sketch Up but a well written 231 page book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
A very easy book to read through, even if you are not actually in front of the computer screen using Google Sketch Up at the same time. Clearly set out chapters which build on the previous one so that you progress logically. Well worth the price.Sams Teach Yourself Google SketchUp 8 in 10 Minutes (Sams Teach Yourself...in 10 Minutes)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
Sketchup is a great tool for visualising real projects and making the accurate drawings that can eliminate many silly mistakes before construction starts. I want to make accurate drawings quickly, using experienced users' tips to get the drawing done fast so that I can get on with the real job. Sadly, this book doesn't help.
For me, the alignment and separation of features within the drawing are the reason for having an accurate drawing but the author clearly disagrees. The section headings give the game away: "Creating guides with the tape measure tool" comes late in chapter 9 (of 10) and dimensioning is only covered in the final chapter. Almost any practical Sketchup project is made far easier by the use of guide-lines but even then, you need to know how to align the right part of an object with the guide-line. Once you understand this, drawing becomes far quicker. This is not explicitly covered in the book. For the drawing to be useful, the dimensions need to be visible. Visible dimensions can often help avaoid errors during draughting so it really doesn't make sense to introduce these right at the end of the book.
I bought this because the county library's copy of Google SketchUp: The Missing Manual (Missing Manuals) that I have previously borrowed was out on loan. I now regret not buying my own "Missing Manual".
Sorry Mr Holzner but your book reads as though written by an IT specialist describing what the software can do, not as though written by a practical person describing how to make it deliver useful results.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
If you are just starting up as a beginner in Google SketchUp 8 I would strongly recommend this book.
I've found it to be excellent so far not to over the top for starters etc.
I've found in the past some books seem to go to far to soon, but this is just my speed, Google
have put some great free tutorials and videos on line but I found this book a lot better for
the beginner.
So Thank You Mr Steven Holzner for an excellent book for the beginner like me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Good guide for beginners and shouldn't take you too long to get through it. The 10 minutes refers to the length of each exercise in the book and is pretty accurate fro a raw novice. Not a book for someone who is already partly familiar with sketch up though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
Clear and concise with plenty of illustrations in this publication. It is a real must if you want to do anything in Sketch-up other than just playing. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
Very helpful for getting innitialised. Silly title, 10 minutes but true this is just the getting used to sketchup quickly. You will also need a more detailed book. Reason for 4 and not 5 stars is there is too much repetition. Still get it anyway!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
10 minutes later - I'm still rubbish, I suspect some element of practice and repetition may be required here. An okay book that covers a lot quite succinctly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
It helped me to get a good start on my coursework at uni, but if someone wants to do it properly, they will need some additional research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Well illustrated and easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse